购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打 400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

应变计

应变计简介

应变计(有时称为应变片)是电阻随作用力变化的传感器;它将力、压力、张力、重量等物理量转化为电阻的变化,从而测量这些物理量。当外力作用于固定物体时,就会产生应力和应变。物体内部产生的(对外力的)反作用力即为应力,产生的位移和形变即为应变。

应变计是电气测量技术中最重要的传感器之一,用于力学量的测量。正如其名,应变计主要用于应变测量。作为专业术语,“应变”包括拉伸应变和压缩应变,以正负符号区分。因此,应变计既可测量膨胀,也可测量收缩。

典型的金属箔应变计
物体的应变总是由于外力或内力作用导致。力、压力、力矩、热和材料结构变化等原因都可能导致应变。满足特定条件时,就可以通过测得的应变量来算出影响因素的量化程度或物理值。这一方法在应力实验分析中被广泛采用。应力实验分析用试样或结构零件表面测得的应变值来表述材料内部的应力,并且预测材料安全性和耐久程度。更加专业的变送器可用于测量力或其它衍生的物理量如运动、压力、加速度、位移和振动等。这类变送器通常包含一个粘接了应变计的压敏隔膜。

了解更多有关应变计的信息

两种具有不同片阵的应变计

一般用途精密应变计


一般用途精密应变计为封装型康铜箔式应变计,具有多种模式规格,适用于科学、工业和实验应力分析。此类精密应变计可用于实验应力分析,监测工业设备或各种科学应用。在一般用途应变计部分,您可在零件编号旁找到应变计模式规格,以便查看应变计的几何形状。应变计尺寸同时以国际单位(公制,毫米)和美规单位(英制,英寸)提供。一般用途精密应变计包括以下模式规格:线性模式,双平行网格模式,T型片阵(0/90°)模式,矩形或三角形(45°或60°),堆叠或平面片阵和剪切模式。

传感器质量应变计


传感器质量应变计适用于制造传感器或类似传感设备的客户。传感器质量应变计在载体实际尺寸上有着更严格的公差,可在需要时,使用载体边缘进行应变计校准。其标称电阻值公差也更严格。此类应变计可以进行蠕变调整,以满足传感器制造商的规格要求,还可以根据传感器的独特要求进行定制。传感器质量应变计支持现货订购,可出色用于实验应力分析和/或应变验证项目。

Karma应变计



应变计选择考量因素


  1. 应变计长度
  2. 应变计模式中的应变计数量
  3. 应变计模式中的应变计排列
  4. 栅极电阻
  5. 应变灵敏合金
  6. 载体材料
  7. 应变计宽度
  8. 焊片类型
  9. 焊片配置
  10. 可用性
Omega提供全系列Karma应变计。Karma应变计可用于各种静态和动态应用。它们适用于对长期稳定性或耐高温性有着严格要求的应用。当在室温下用于静态应变测量时,可使传感器具有长达几个月甚至几年的良好稳定性。对于-75至200°C(-100至392°F)的宽温度区间的静态应变测量,也建议使用Karma应变计,因为它们在这一温度区间具有良好的线性度。Karma应变计通常用于疲劳额定型传感器设计。Karma合金的疲劳寿命往往比康铜要好得多,因此采用Karma应变计的传感器具有更长的疲劳寿命。Karma是一种镍铬合金,具有模量补偿能力,能够显著降低传感器设计中的量程漂移,因此常被选用作为应变计材料。

利用Karma合金,应变计灵敏系数会随着温度的升高而降低。弹性模量的降低则会使量程漂移减小。Karma合金也有其自身缺点,例如,如果不借助特制焊剂,则很难进行焊接。OMEGA已找到解决方案。我们为Karma应变计采用镀铜焊垫,解决了这一难题。其中无需使用任何特制焊剂或特殊工序。

粘合型箔式应变计


第一款粘合型金属丝应变计制作于1938年。金属箔型应变计由厚度约0.001英寸(0.025 mm)的细丝网(电阻)组成,通过一层薄薄的环氧树脂直接粘结到应变表面。当载荷施加于表面时,表面长度的变化会传递到电阻丝上,从而可以用与应变成线性关系的箔丝电阻值来度量待测表面的应变。箔膜和粘结层需要共同完成应变的传递,同时粘结层还要起到栅箔和待测表面之间的电绝缘作用。选择应变计材料时,不仅仅要考虑传感器应变特性,还要考虑其稳定性和温度敏感性。遗憾的是,最适宜用作应变计的材料往往同时对温度变化十分敏感,并且电阻值会随着材料老化而改变。虽然对短期应用而言,这不是很重要,但应用到持续性工业测量中时,必须要考虑温度和漂移补偿。

选择合适的应变计

顶部
预接线应变片预接线应变片
精密应变片带有1 m或3 m绝缘线,以便安装。KFH系列应变片包括以下模式规格:线性模式,T型片阵或0/45/90平面片阵。
预接线应变片用于剪力或扭矩应用的应变计
用于剪力或扭矩应用的半桥应变计。它们结构坚固,具有良好的可靠性和灵活性,适用于高度精确的静态和动态传感器。
预接线应变片用于非均质材料的超长网格模式应变计
这款应变计为超长网格模式,可用于测量非均质材料(即混凝土、填充塑料等)中的应变

常见问题

顶部
惠斯通电桥电路图

测量应变计电路


为了使用粘合型电阻应变计测量应变,必须将其连接到电路上,这样才可以测量与应变对应的微小电阻变化。应变计传感器通常包含四个应变计元件,这些元件通过电气连接构成惠斯通电桥电路。图1示出了典型的应变计图。惠斯通电桥是一个断开的桥状电路,可用于测量静态或动态的电阻。惠斯通电桥的输出电压形式为毫伏每伏特输入电压。惠斯通电桥也非常适于温度补偿应用。电桥中所需的有效应变计数量取决于应用场合。例如,将弯曲梁两侧分别测量压缩应变和拉伸应变的两个应变计连接起来,就是一种很实用的设计。这种设计可以使同等应变输出的桥电压倍增。在四臂均设有应变计的电桥中,温度影响可以得到自动补偿。这是因为温度导致的阻值变化会同时作用于电桥的四臂。

定制应变计


OMEGA提供应变计定制服务。我们了解客户需要适用于其特殊要求的定制应变计。使用定制应变计,可以简化应变计的安装,使其适用于特定应用或空间受限的环境。如果在我们的标准应变计中没有找到满足您要求的应变计,请随时与我们联系。我们可以提供应变计定制服务满足您的要求,这些服务包括:
  • 修改标准应变计模式
  • 建立定制应变计片阵或模式
  • 在公共载体上放置多个应变计
  • 提供非标准引线长度
  • 使用定制材料
  • 重新布置焊垫或提供其它布线点
  • 生成特定尺寸或形状,清除障碍
我们可以提供定制蠕变规格,使其与您的弹簧元件相匹配,从而最大程度地提高传感器性能。我们的团队将帮助您根据测试结果的要求提高或降低蠕变补偿。OMEGA可提供半桥或全桥惠斯通电桥设计,或定制片阵。我们致力于简化定制应变计的购买流程,加快购买速度。请将定制图纸和所需的应变计规格和数量发送给OMEGA。OMEGA的团队将和您一起分析您的应用,并为您提供定制应变计的报价单。我们会在2周以内制作出定制应变计的样品。并在不久后生产出所需数量的产品。我们会为您创建定制零件编号,方便您将来快速方便地订购此款应变计。

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
1-203-359-1660   | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342

Your One-Stop Source for Process Measurement & Control!

Strain Gage

Introduction to strain gages

A strain gage (sometimes refered to as a Strain gage) is a sensor whose resistance varies with applied force; It converts force, pressure, tension, weight, etc., into a change in electrical resistance which can then be measured. When external forces are applied to a stationary object, stress and strain are the result. Stress is defined as the object's internal resisting forces, and strain is defined as the displacement and deformation that occur.

The strain gage is one of the most important sensor of the electrical measurement technique applied to the measurement of mechanical quantities. As their name indicates, they are used for the measurement of strain. As a technical term "strain" consists of tensile and compressive strain, distinguished by a positive or negative sign. Thus, strain gages can be used to pick up expansion as well as contraction.

Typical metal-foil strain gages
The strain of a body is always caused by an external influence or an internal effect. Strain might be caused by forces, pressures, moments, heat, structural changes of the material and the like. If certain conditions are fulfilled, the amount or the value of the influencing quantity can be derived from the measured strain value. In experimental stress analysis this feature is widely used. Experimental stress analysis uses the strain values measured on the surface of a specimen, or structural part, to state the stress in the material and also to predict its safety and endurance. Special transducers can be designed for the measurement of forces or other derived quantities, e.g., moments, pressures, accelerations, displacements, vibrations and others. The transducer generally contains a pressure sensitive diaphragm with strain gages bonded to it.

Learn more about strain gages

two strain gages with differents rossetes

General Purpose Precision strain gages

General purpose precision strain gages are encapsulated constantan foil strain gages offered in a wide variety of patterns for scientific, industrial and experimental stress analysis. These precision strain gages can be used for experimental stress analysis monitoring industrial equipment or various scientific applications. In the General purpose strain gage section you will find the strain gage patterns next to the part numbers so that you will be able to see the geometry of the strain gage. The gauge dimensions are also provided in and SI (Metric, mm) and US Customary (English, inches) units. General purpose precision strain gages are offered in linear patterns, dual parallel- grid patterns, Tee rosettes (0/90°), rectangular or delta (45° or 60°), stacked or planar rosettes, and shear patterns.

Transducer Quality strain gages

Transducer-quality strain gages are for customers who are manufacturing transducers or similar sensing devices. Transducer-quality strain gages feature a tighter tolerance on the carrier trim dimensions which allows the carrier edge to be used for strain gage alignment if required. They also feature tighter tolerances on nominal resistance values. These gauges can be creep adjusted to meet a transducer manufacturer’s specifications and they can be customized to the unique requirements of a transducer. They are also excellent gauges off-the- shelf for experimental stress analysis and/or strain verification projects.

Karma strain gages

strain gage Selection Considerations

  1. Gauges Length
  2. Number of Gauges in Gauge Pattern
  3. Arrangement of Gauges in Gauge Pattern
  4. Grid Resistance
  5. Strain-Sensitive Alloy
  6. Carrier Material
  7. Gauge Width
  8. Solder Tab Type
  9. Configuration of Solder Tab
  10. Availability
Omega offers a full line of Karma strain gages. Karma strain gages can be used for various static and dynamic applications. Karma strain gages are used for transducer applications where long term stability or higher temperature use is required. When used at room temperature, for static strain measurements, the transducer will have very good stability for months or even for years. Karma strain gages are also suggested for static strain measurement over a wide temperature range from -75 to 200°C (-100 to 392°F) due to its good linearity over this wide temperature range. Karma strain gages are often used for fatigue-rated transducer designs. T e fatigue life of Karma alloy tends to be much better than constantan, and so transducers using Karma strain gages provide good fatigue life. Karma is a nickel-chromium alloy, and was selected as a strain gage material for it’s modulus-compensating capabilities which tends to significantly reduce span shift in transducer design.

With Karma alloys, the gauge factor tends to decrease with increasing temperature. This effect of decreasing elastic modulus will tend to reduce the span shift. Karma alloys do have drawbacks, for example they are difficult to solder without special fluxes. OMEGA has the solution. We have eliminated this problem by offering our Karma strain gages with copper plated solder pads. No special flux or procedures are needed.

Bonded Foil strain gages

The first bonded, metallic wire-type strain gage was developed in 1938. The metallic foil-type strain gage consists of a grid of wire filament (a resistor) of approximately 0.001 in. (0.025 mm) thickness, bonded directly to the strained surface by a thin layer of epoxy resin. When a load is applied to the surface, the resulting change in surface length is communicated to the resistor and the corresponding strain is measured in terms of the electrical resistance of the foil wire, which varies linearly with strain. The foil diaphragm and the adhesive bonding agent must work together in transmitting the strain, while the adhesive must also serve as an electrical insulator between the foil grid and the surface. When selecting a strain gage, one must consider not only the strain characteristics of the sensor, but also its stability and temperature sensitivity. Unfortunately, the most desirable strain gage materials are also sensitive to temperature variations and tend to change resistance as they age. For applications of short duration, this may not be a serious concern, but for continuous industrial measurement, one must include temperature and drift compensation.

Choose the right strain gage

Pre-Wired strain gages Pre-Wired strain gages
Precision Gauges with either 1 m or 3 m of insulated wire attached for easy installation. KFH Series gauges available in Linear patterns, Tee Rosettes, or 0/45/90 Planar Rosettes.
Pre-Wired strain gages Strain gages for Shear or Torque Applications
Half bridge strain gages for Shear or Torque Applications. Their rugged construction, reliability and flexibility make them suitable for highly accurate static and dynamic transducers.
Pre-Wired strain gages Extra-Long Grid Pattern for Inhomogeneous Materials
strain gages with an extra-long grid patterns for measuring strain in inhomogeneous materials(i.e. Concrete, filled plastics, etc)

Frequently Asked Questions

Wheatstone Bridge Circuit diagram

Measuring strain gage circuits

In order to measure strain with a bonded resistance strain gage, it must be connected to an electric circuit that is capable of measuring the minute changes in resistance corresponding to strain. strain gage transducers usually employ four strain gage elements that are electrically connected to form a Wheatstone bridge circuit. The Figure 1 shows a typical strain gage diagram. A Wheatstone bridge is a divided bridge circuit used for the measurement of static or dynamic electrical resistance. The output voltage of the Wheatstone bridge is expressed in millivolts output per volt input. The Wheatstone circuit is also well suited for temperature compensation. The number of active strain gages that should be connected to the bridge depends on the application. For example, it may be useful to connect gauges that are on opposite sides of a beam, one in compression and the other in tension. In this arrangement, one can effectively double the bridge output for the same strain. In installations where all of the arms are connected to strain gages, temperature compensation is automatic as resistance change (due to temperature variations) will be the same for all arms of the bridge.

Custom strain gages

OMEGA can make custom strain gages. We understand that our customers may require custom pattern that are manufactured to their specifications. Custom strain gages can be designed to simplify strain gage installation, for a specific application or for an environment where space is limited. If you do not find what you need in our standard gauge selection please let us know. We can customize your strain gage to fit your needs, including:
  • Modifiy a standard gauge pattern
  • Create a custom strain gage rosette or pattern
  • Put multiple gauges on a common carrier
  • Provide non-standard lead length
  • Use custom material
  • Relocate solder pads or provide additional wiring points
  • Produce specific trim dimension or shapes to clear obstructions
We can provide custom creep specifications to match your spring element to maximize the performance of your sensor. Our team will work with you to modify creep compenstaion higher or lower as required by your test results. OMEGA can provide 1/2 or full Wheatstone bridge designs or custom Rosettes. We strive to make buying a custom strain gage fast and easy. Just send OMEGA your custom drawing along with your specifications and the quantity of strain gages required. The OMEGA team will work with you on your application and provide a quotation for the custom strain gages. We can make proof samples of the custom gauges in as little as 2-weeks. With production quantities shortly thereafter. A custom part number will be created for your strain gage to make future ordering fast and easy.