购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
咨询热线 400-619-0559

调整PID控制器

热处理过程例证了对PID控制的需求。为确保产品质量稳定,烤箱或炉内的温度必须保持在较小的变化范围内。必须适当处理任何干扰,例如添加或取出产品或应用升温功能时。虽然概念简单,但PID控制的数学基础是复杂的,并且实现最佳性能需要为一系列相互作用的参数选择特定于过程的值。

找到这些值的过程称为“调整”。最佳调整时,PID温度控制器可最大限度地减少与设定点的偏差,并快速响应干扰或设定点变化,但超调最小。

OMEGA Engineering的白皮书介绍了如何调整PID控制器。尽管许多控制器提供自动调整功能,但了解PID调整将有助于实现最佳性能。个别部分涉及:
  • PID控制基础知识
  • PID控制器调整方法
    ○手动调整
    ○ 调整启发式
    ○ 自动调整
  • 常见的PID控制应用

PID控制基础知识

    温度和过程控制器
温度和过程控制器
PID控制基于反馈。测量装置或过程(例如加热器)的输出,并与目标或设定值进行比较。若检测到差异,则计算并应用校正。再次测量输出并重新计算所需的校正。

PID代表比例-积分-微分(proportional - integral - derivative)。并非每个控制器都使用这三个数学函数。只需比例积分项就可以将许多过程处理到可接受的水平。然而,精细控制,尤其是过冲避免,需要增加微分控制。

在比例控制中,校正因子由设定值和测量值之间的差值大小确定。其问题是,当差异接近零时,校正也接近零,结果是误差永远不会变为零。

积分函数通过考虑误差的累积值来解决这个问题。设定值与实际值差异持续的时间越长,计算的校正因子的大小越大。然而,当响应校正存在延迟时,会导致超调并且可能围绕设定点振荡。导函数的目的就是避免这种情况。这样可以查看实现的变化率,逐步修改校正因子,以便在接近设定点时减小其影响。

PID控制器调整方法

即使设备基本相同时,每个过程也都具有独特的特性。烤箱周围的气流会有所不同,环境温度会改变流体密度和粘度,气压会随时发生变化。必须选择PID设置(主要是应用于校正因子的增益以及积分和微分计算中使用的时间,称为“复位”和“速率”)以适应这些局部差异。

从广义上讲,有三种方法可以确定这些设置的最佳组合:手动调整、调整启发式和自动化方法。

手动调整

有了关于正在控制的过程的充分信息,便可以计算增益、重置和速率的最佳值。通常这个过程太过复杂,但是通过一些知识,特别是关于它对误差校正的响应速度,可以达到基本的调整水平。

通过将复位时间设置为其最大值、将速率设置为零并增加增益、直到环路以恒定幅度振荡来完成手动调整。(当快速响应纠错时,可以使用更大的增益。如果响应缓慢,则需要相对较小的增益)。然后将增益设置为该值的一半,并调整复位时间,以便在可接受的时间段内校正任何偏移。最后,增加速率,直到超调最小化。

调整启发式

多年来,为了解决如何调整PID循环的问题,许多规则已经发生了变化。可能是第一个,当然也是最著名的是Ziegler-Nichols(ZN)规则。

该规则由Zeigler和Nichols于1942年首次发布,描述了两种调整PID回路的方法。这些工作通过对系统施加阶跃变化并观察结果响应来实现。第一种方法需要测量响应的滞后或延迟,然后测量达到新输出值所需的时间。第二种方法取决于建立稳态振荡的周期。在这两种方法中,再将这些值输入表中得到增益、重置时间和速率的值。

ZN方法并非没有问题。在某些应用中,它产生的响应在超调和振荡方面被认为过于激进。另一个缺点是在仅缓慢反应的过程中可能会比较耗时。由于这些原因,一些控制从业者更喜欢其他规则,如Tyreus-Luyben或Rivera,Morari和Skogestad。

自动调整

目前销售的大多数过程控制器都包含自动调整功能。制造商之间的操作细节有所不同,但都遵循与上述规则类似的规则。本质上,控制器“学习”过程如何响应干扰或设定点的变化,并计算适当的PID设置。对于像OMEGA Cni8系列这样的温度控制器,当选择“自动调整”时,控制器会激活一个输出。通过观察改变的延迟和速率,它可以计算出最佳的P、I和D设置,然后可以根据需要进行手动微调。(请注意,此控制器要求设定值至少比当前过程值高10°C才能执行自动调整)。

更新、更复杂的控制器,如OMEGA的Platinum系列温度和过程控制器,将模糊逻辑与其自动调整功能结合在一起。这提供了一种处理(例如制造和加工行业中经常遇到的)复杂控制情况下不精确和非线性问题的方法,并有助于调整优化。

常见的PID控制应用

 PID控制模拟器
PID控制模拟器
无论加热材料的质量和湿度如何变化,工业热处理中使用的烤箱和熔炉都需要获得一致的结果。这使得这种设备成为PID控制的理想选择。用于移动流体的泵是类似的应用,其中介质属性的变化可能改变系统输出,除非实现有效的反馈回路。

运动控制系统也使用一种PID控制。然而,由于响应比上述系统快几个数量级,因此需要与此处讨论的控制器不同形式的控制器。

理解PID调整

PID控制用于管理许多过程。校正因子通过将输出值与设定值进行比较并应用增益来计算,这些增益可以最大限度地减少超调和振荡,同时尽可能快地实现变化。

PID调整需要为被控制的过程确定适当的增益值。虽然这可以手动完成或通过控制启发式方法完成,但大多数现代控制器都提供自动调整功能。但是,控制专业人员仍然需要了解按下按钮后会发生什么。

白皮书
下载以下内容白皮书
PID 控制器
PID 控制器 | 技术参考
如何调谐PID控制器 温度控制整定PID(三模式)控制器 温度控制器的操作 技术学习 - OMEGA Engineering® 温度控制器选择的考虑因素 介绍 . . . OMEGA的温度测量和控制术语表

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Your Source for Process Measurement & Control

Tuning a PID Controller

PID Controller Heat treatment processes exemplify the need for PID control. To ensure consistent product quality the temperature inside an oven or furnace must be kept within narrow limits. Any disturbance, such as when a product is added or withdrawn or a ramp function is applied, must be handled appropriately. Although simple in concept, the mathematics underpinning PID control is complex and achieving optimal performance entails selecting process-specific values for a range of interacting parameters.

The process of finding these values is referred to as “tuning.” When tuned optimally, a PID temperature controller minimizes deviation from the set point, and responds to disturbances or set point changes quickly but with minimal overshoot.

This White Paper from OMEGA Engineering discusses how to tune a PID controller. Even though many controllers provide auto tune capabilities, an understanding of PID tuning will help in achieving optimal performance. Individual sections address:
  • Basics of PID Control
  • PID Controller Tuning Methods
    ○ Manual Tuning
    ○ Tuning Heuristics
    ○ Auto Tune
  • Common Applications of PID Control

Basics of PID Control

Temperature and Process Controllers
Temperature and Process Controllers
PID control is based on feedback. The output of a device or process, such as a heater, is measured and compared with the target or set point. If a difference is detected a correction is calculated and applied. The output is measured again and any required correction recalculated.

PID stands for proportional-integral-derivative. Not every controller uses all three of these mathematical functions. Many processes can be handled to an acceptable level with just the proportional-integral terms. However, fine control, and especially overshoot avoidance, requires the addition of derivative control.

In proportional control the correction factor is determined by the size of the difference between set point and measured value. The problem with this is that as the difference approaches zero, so too does the correction, with the result that the error never goes to zero.

The integral function addresses this by considering the cumulative value of the error. The longer the set point-to-actualvalue difference persists the greater the size of correction factor calculated. However, when there is a delay in response to the correction this leads to an overshoot and possibly oscillation about the set point. Avoiding this is the purpose of the derivative function. This looks at the rate of change being achieved, progressively modifying the correction factor to lessen its effect as the set point is approached.

PID Controller Tuning Methods

Every process has unique characteristics, even when the equipment is essentially identical. Airflow around ovens will vary, ambient temperatures will alter fluid density and viscosity, and barometric pressure will change from hour to hour. The PID settings (principally the gain applied to the correction factor along with the time used in the integral and derivative calculations, termed “reset” and “rate”) must be selected to suit these local differences.

In broad terms, there are three approaches to determining the optimal combination of these settings: manual tuning, tuning heuristics, and automated methods.

Manual Tuning

With enough information about the process being controlled, it may be possible to calculate optimal values of gain, reset and rate. Often the process is too complex, but with some knowledge, particularly about the speed with which it responds to error corrections, it is possible to achieve a rudimentary level of tuning.

Manual tuning is done by setting the reset time to its maximum value and the rate to zero and increasing the gain until the loop oscillates at a constant amplitude. (When the response to an error correction occurs quickly a larger gain can be used. If response is slow a relatively small gain is desirable). Then set the gain to half of that value and adjust the reset time so it corrects for any offset within an acceptable period. Finally, increase the rate until overshoot is minimized.

Tuning Heuristics

Many rules have evolved over the years to address the question of how to tune a PID loop. Probably the first, and certainly the best known, are the Zeigler-Nichols (ZN) rules.

First published in 1942, Zeigler and Nichols described two methods of tuning a PID loop. These work by applying a step change to the system and observing the resulting response. The first method entails measuring the lag or delay in response and then the time taken to reach the new output value. The second depends on establishing the period of a steady-state oscillation. In both methods these values are then entered into a table to derive values for gain, reset time and rate.

ZN is not without issues. In some applications it produces a response considered too aggressive in terms of overshoot and oscillation. Another drawback is that it can be time-consuming in processes that react only slowly. For these reasons some control practitioners prefer other rules such as Tyreus-Luyben or Rivera, Morari and Skogestad.

Auto Tune

Most process controllers sold today incorporate auto-tuning functions. Operating details vary between manufacturers but all follow rules similar to those described above. Essentially, the controller “learns” how the process responds to a disturbance or change in set point, and calculates appropriate PID settings. In the case of a temperature controller like OMEGA’s CNi8 series, when “Auto Tune” is selected the controller activates an output. By observing both the delay and rate with which the change is made it calculates optimal P, I and D settings, which can then be fine-tuned manually if needed. (Note that this controller requires the set point to be at least 10°C above the current process value for auto tuning to be performed).

Newer and more sophisticated controllers, such as OMEGA’s Platinum series of temperature and process controllers, incorporate fuzzy logic with their auto tune capabilities. This provides a way of dealing with imprecision and nonlinearity in complex control situations, such as are often encountered in manufacturing and process industries, and helps with tuning optimization.

Common Applications of PID Control

PID Control Simulator
PID Control Simulator
Ovens and furnaces used in industrial heat treatment are required to achieve consistent results regardless of how the mass and humidity of material being heated may vary. This makes such equipment ideal for PID control. Pumps used for moving fluids are a similar application, where variation in media properties could change system outputs unless an effective feedback loop is implemented.

Motion control systems also use a form of PID control. However, as the response is orders of magnitude faster than the systems described above these require a different form of controller to that discussed here.

Understanding PID Tuning

PID control is used to manage many processes. Correction factors are calculated by comparing the output value to the set point and applying gains that minimize overshoot and oscillation while effecting the change as quickly as possible.

PID tuning entails establishing appropriate gain values for the process being controlled. While this can be done manually or by means of control heuristics, most modern controllers provide auto tune capabilities. However, it remains important for control professionals to understand what happens after the button in pressed.

WHITE PAPER
Download our white paper on
PID Controller
PID Controller | Tech Reference
PLATINUM(tm) Series PID Control Simulator PID with Fuzzy Logic Adaptive Control-The Best of Both Worlds How to Tune a PID Controller Wireless pH Measurement: Best Features to Have Digital Panel Meter Applications Particle Pollution & Environmental Safety