购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打 400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

光纤温度测量

光纤简介

光纤探头是目前使用的比较有趣的温度测量设备之一。以下是一家公司产品的工作原理。

光纤温度传感器是基于砷化镓(GaAs)对光的吸收/透射特性。温度变化对该半导体的影响是众所周知并且可以预测的。GaAs晶体位于光纤温度传感器的测量端(参见照片1)。随着晶体温度的升高,其透射光谱(即,未被吸收的光线)跃变为波长更长的光谱。在任意给定温度下,光线透射会以特定的波长从初始的0%跃迁到100%。这种跃迁被称作吸收跃变(参见图1)。在发生吸收跃变时,温度和具体波长之间的关系是可以预测的。

要理解为何会发生这种跃变,需要研究一下半导体能量带隙的变化。“带隙”是指物质中的电子从弛豫的稳态到激发态进行碰撞所需要的能量。随着越来越多的能量(热量形式)进入晶体,带隙会变得越来越窄,而激发电子所需要的额外能量也随之变少。

实际上,正是进入晶体的光子激发了电子。如果光子携带的能量足以使电子越过带隙,那么这个光子将会被吸收。如果光子携带的能量不足,那么该光子将会被透射。光子的波长越短,携带的能量越多。因为带隙随着晶体温度的升高而变窄,而跃迁带隙所需要的能量也随之变少,所以,能量带吸收的光子所需携带的能量也越来越少(波长越来越长)。这种效应就是使吸收跃变到更大的波长。因此,通过测量吸收跃变的位置可以测得晶体的温度。
连接到传感器的电缆延长线
照片1。除了此处所示型号之外,光纤温度探头还有各种材料和性能规格可供选择,每种规格均针对特定的应用要求而设计。
图1。光纤温度传感器的工作原理是基于砷化镓晶体半导体的吸收/投射特性。随着晶体温度的升高,会使其透射光谱跃变到更大波长,即以特定波长从初始的0%跃迁到100%。此处所示三个温度以ºC计量。

探头设计

光纤温度探头必须与所测材料相接触。接触越紧密,晶体对温度变化的响应就越快。带有介质镜的GaAs小晶体被粘合到一根裂开光纤的一端(见图2)。然后使用铁氟龙覆盖整个组件,起到良好缓冲的作用。
图2。光纤温度传感器探头由砷化镓晶体和位于光纤一端的介质镜以及位于另一端的不锈钢连接器组成。整个组件涂覆特氟隆用于缓冲。
探头的另一端是不锈钢ST型连接器,通过其将白光注入探头。光沿着探头光纤传播,其中一部分被GaAs晶体吸收。介质镜起到反射未被吸收的光的作用,使未被吸收的光沿探头返回到耦合器并被导向至光谱仪(见图3)。
图3。白光源将光注入耦合器的其中一个分支。这些光沿着探头的光纤传播到砷化镓中,由砷化镓吸收其中的一部分。未被吸收的光则由介质镜反射,使其沿探头返回到耦合器,并在耦合器中被导向至光谱仪。
然后分析吸收跃变的位置,并将其关联回温度。吸收跃变的计算并不取决于信号强度;事实上,只有反射光的径迹特征才是有意义的。因此,造成光纤衰减的各种因素(例如,光纤长度,连接次数和数量,光纤直径和成分,弯曲)都不会造成任何严重的限制。此外,由于GaAs晶体的响应具有普遍性和恒定性,因此无需进行探头校准。

转载已获加拿大Neoptix公司许可。转载承蒙欧米伽工程公司(美国康涅狄格州诺瓦克,06854,www.omega.com)许可。

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Fiber-Optic Temperature Measurement

Introduction to Fiber-Optics

Fiber-optic probes are among the more interesting temperature measurement devices in current use. Here’s the way one company’s products work.

Fiber-optic temperature sensors are based on the light absorption/transmission properties of gallium arsenide (GaAs). The effects of temperature variations on this semiconducting crystal are well known and predictable. At the measurement end of the fiber-optic temperature sensor (see Photo 1) is a GaAs crystal. As the crystal’s temperature increases, its transmission spectrum (i.e., the light that is not absorbed) shifts to higher wavelengths. At any given temperature, transmission jumps from essentially 0% to 100% at a specific wavelength. This jump is called the absorption shift (see Figure 1). The relationship between the temperature and the specific wavelength at which the absorption shift takes place is very predictable.

To understand why the absorption shift occurs, it is necessary to look at the variation in the semiconductor’s energy band gap. This band gap refers to the energy required to bump the electrons in the material from a relaxed, steady state into an excited state. As more energy in the form of heat enters the crystal, the band gap becomes narrower—less additional energy is needed to excite an electron.

The photons entering the crystal are what actually excite the electrons. If a photon is carrying enough energy to get an electron across the gap, it will be absorbed. If it is not carrying enough energy, the photon will be transmitted. The shorter a photon’s wavelength, the more energy it carries. Because the band gap narrows as the crystal’s temperature increases, and less energy is needed to jump the gap, photons with less and less energy (longer and longer wavelengths) are absorbed by the band. The effect is to move the absorption shift to longer wavelengths. Consequently, measuring the position of the absorption shift gives a measure of the crystal’s temperature.
extension cable connected to the sensor
Photo 1. In addition to the model shown here, fiber-optic temperature probes are available in a variety of materials and performance specs, each designed to satisfy particular application requirements.
Figure 1. Fiber-optic temperature sensors operate on the absorption/transmission properties of gallium arsenide crystal semiconductors. Increases in the crystal's temperature have the effect of shifting its transmission spectrum to higher wavelengths, jumping from essentially 0% to 100% at a specific wavelength. The three temperatures shown here are in ºC.

Probe Design

A fiber-optic temperature probe must be in contact with the material it is measuring. The more intimate the contact, the faster the crystal will respond to the temperature changes. A tiny crystal of GaAs with a dielectric mirror is bonded to one end of a cleaved optical fiber (see Figure 2). Teflon is then used to cover the entire assembly, serving as an excellent buffer.
Figure 2. Fiber-optic temperature sensor probe consists of a gallium arsenide crystal and a dielectric mirror on one end of an optical fiber and a stainless steel connector at the other end. The entire assembly is coated with Teflon as a buffer.
At the opposite end of the probe is a stainless steel ST-type connector, through which white light is injected into the probe. The light travels down the probe’s optical fiber, where some of it is absorbed by the GaAs crystal. The dielectric mirror reflects unabsorbed light, which returns down the probe to the coupler and is directed to a spectrometer (see Figure 3).
Figure 3. A white light source injects light into one of the branches of the coupler. This light travels down the probe's optical fiber to the gallium arsenide, which absorbs some of it. Unabsorbed light is reflected by the dielectric mirror and returned down the probe to the coupler, where it is directed to a spectrometer.
The position of the absorption shift is then analyzed and correlated back to temperature. Computation of the absorption shift does not depend on signal intensity; essentially, only the reflected light signature is of interest. Therefore, the various factors that contribute to attenuation on optical fibers (e.g., fiber length, number and quantity of connections, fiber diameter and composition, bending) do not impose any serious constraints. Furthermore, since the GaAs crystal’s response is universal and constant, no probe calibration is required.

Reproduced with permission of Neoptix Canada LP. Reproduced courtesy of OMEGA Engineering, Inc., Norwalk, CT 06854 USA www.omega.com.