购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打 400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

MI电缆在关键流程中的应用以及优势

什么是MI电缆?

Mineral Insulated Cable
Dual OMEGACLAD®热电偶电缆
Mi电缆是一种在高温或恶劣环境条件下使用的专用电缆, 因为即使在高温下工作,其可燃性也很低。它抗氧化,并支持精确测量。

矿物绝缘电缆由铜内的铜线、不锈钢或Inconel®护套组成,由诸如氧化镁(MgO)等填充矿物绝缘。氧化镁是一种优良的电绝缘材料,因为它可以抵抗氧化和电离辐射,并且在高温下具有化学和物理稳定性。在电缆填充MgO绝缘层后,可以在压力下轧制成所需的直径。外部护套可防止内部热电偶丝受到热、化学或其他环境损害。金属护套可以用另外的彩色塑料护套覆盖,以增加辨识度和增加额外的防腐层。

Mi电缆可以包含任意数量的芯线,但最常见的配置包括1对、2对或3对芯线。专用MI电缆可在定制配置中包含附加热电偶。Mi电缆有多种直径和长度可供选择,主要取决于具体要求。许多MI电缆使用灵敏、快速和高精度的干体式探头校准器进行校准。

由MI电缆制造的RTD和热电偶传感器广泛用于金属热处理、固体废物焚烧炉、烧结粉末金属、烧制陶瓷材料、燃气或燃油炉、燃料热交换器、箱式炉和核或烃基能源工厂。

Advantages of MI Cable

Molten Metal
熔融金属
Oil Rig
石油钻井平台
在化学活性或潮湿环境中使用时,MI包覆电缆的金属护套有助于防止热电偶丝被氧化。耐腐蚀性使MI电缆非常适用于出故障和更换时可能发生危险甚至是无法更换的区域。例如,MI电缆用于核电站监测堆芯温度。如果温度控制器没有接收到准确的读数,那将是非常危险的,并且在该环境中修理或更换电缆是非常困难的。

Mi电缆中的矿物填料提供出色的非反应性绝缘,防止热电偶丝彼此接触或与油、溶剂或水等腐蚀性物质接触。这有助于确保热电偶探头保持准确,对于诸如热处理或烧结之类的应用是至关重要的,在这类应用中,产品的质量可能受到温度波动的不利影响。

Mi电缆的绝缘层不会燃烧,非常适合那些一旦发生火灾就是灾难性的应用。医疗器械、发电厂和石油钻井平台是安装MI电缆会使其操作更加安全的例子。

由于通过绝缘层防止热电偶探头与其他电活性导线接触,因此它们不容易发生故障或温度测量不准确。Mi电缆经过精心校准,符合国际标准,可在长工作循环内提供精准的温度测量,几乎没有精度损失。

由于矿物绝缘,MI电缆可以在高温条件下运行而不会损失精度。这使它们非常适用于窑炉、烧制陶瓷或金属热处理或任何高温工艺。即使在暴露于高温期间和之后,MI电缆也能保持其精度,因此它们非常适合作为这些操作中的热电偶探头。此外,对于严格执行安全标准的医疗器械或航空航天等行业,过程偏差可能会导致危及生命的质量问题。MI电缆经过仔细校准,并使用OMEGA Engineering的NIST标准针对已知温度或经认证的温度计进行验证。NIST可追踪式校准法可确保在实际操作条件下的温度精度,并提供其原始精度的文档。要保持符合NIST认证标准,验证链必须完好无损,热电偶必须重新校准,作为文档齐全和已执行的质量管理体系的一部分。

白皮书
下载以下内容白皮书
MI电缆
MI Cable | 技术参考
MI电缆在关键流程中的应用以及优势 技术学习 - OMEGA Engineering®

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Applications and Benefits of MI Cable in Critical Processes

What is an MI Cable?

Mineral Insulated Cable
Dual OMEGACLADTM Thermocouple Cable
MI cable is a specialized type of cable used in high temperatures or harsh environmental conditions because it has low flammability, even when operating at high temperatures. It resists oxidation and enables precise measurement.

Mineral insulated cable consists of copper or thermocouple wires inside a copper, stainless steel, or InconelĀ® sheath, insulated by packed minerals such as magnesium oxide (MgO). Magnesium oxide makes an excellent electrical insulation material because it resists oxidation and ionizing radiation, and it is both chemically and physically stable at high temperatures. After the cable has been packed with MgO insulation, it may be rolled under pressure to achieve the desired diameter. The outer sheath protects the internal thermocouple wire from heat, chemical or other environmental damage. The metal sheath may be covered with an additional colored plastic sheath to add in identification and to add an additional layer of protection from corrosion.

An MI cable may contain any number of wires, but the most common configurations include 1, 2 or 3 pairs of conductors. Specialized MI cables may include additional thermocouples in customized configurations. MI cable is available in a variety of diameters and lengths, depending on the specific requirements. Many MI cables are calibrated using sensitive, fast and highly accurate dry block probe calibrators.

RTD and thermocouple sensors manufactured from MI cable are used extensively in heat treating metals, solid waste incinerators, sintering powdered metals, firing ceramic materials, gas or oil fired furnaces, fuel fired heat exchangers, box furnaces, and nuclear or hydrocarbon-based energy plants.

Contact An Expert

Advantages of MI Cable

Molten Metal
Molten Metal
Oil Rig
Oil Rig
The metal sheath that clads MI cable helps to protect the thermocouple wires from oxidation when used in chemically active or wet environments. Corrosion resistance makes MI cable ideal for use in areas where failure and replacement could be dangerous or even impossible. For example, MI cable is used in nuclear plants to monitor core temperatures. It would be extremely dangerous if the temperature controllers were not receiving accurate readings, and it would be difficult to repair or replace cables in that environment.

The mineral fillings in MI cables provide excellent non-reactive insulation, preventing the thermocouple wires from contact with each other or with caustic substances such as oils, solvents or water. This helps to ensure that the thermocouple probes remain accurate, critical in applications such as heat treating or sintering where the quality of the product could be adversely affected by temperature fluctuations.

The insulation in MI cables does not burn, which makes it ideal for applications where fire could be catastrophic. Medical devices, power plants, and oil rigs are examples of places where installation of MI cables makes operations safer.

Since the thermocouple probes are protected from contact with other electrically active wires by the insulation, they are not readily subject to malfunction or inaccurate temperature measurements. Carefully calibrated to meet international standards, MI cables provide accurate and precise temperature measurement over long duty cycles with little or no loss of accuracy.

Because of the mineral insulation, MI cables can operate in high-temperature conditions with no loss of accuracy. This makes them ideal in kilns, firing ceramics or heat treating metals or in any high-temperature process. MI cables retain their accuracy even during and after exposure to high temperatures, so they are ideal as a thermocouple probe in these operations. In addition, for industries such as medical devices or aerospace where safety standards are strictly enforced, process deviations could result in life-threatening quality issues. MI cables are carefully calibrated and verified using NIST standards at Omega against known temperatures or certified thermometers. NIST traceable calibration ensures temperature accuracy under actual operating conditions and provides documentation of their original accuracy. To remain NIST certified, the chain of verification must be intact and the thermocouples must be recalibrated as part of a well-documented and executed quality management system.

Contact An Expert

WHITE PAPER
Download our white paper on
MI Cable
Related topics
RTD Thermocouple Sensors
MI Cable | Tech Reference
What is MI Cable? Applications and Benefits of MI Cable in Critical Processes Technical Learning - OMEGA EngineeringĀ® OMEGA Has a Starring Role in the LSST Telescope Mirror Sensors Play a Vital Role in Commercial Space Mission Success 3 Factors to Consider When Choosing a Custom or Off-the-Shelf Sensor