购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打 400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

校准温度测量装置在制造业中的应用

校准实验室也包括在内。

温度传感器的类型



制造业中常见的五种装置是:
  1. 双金属或弹簧式温度计。尽管它们响应缓慢且缺乏准确性,但由于价格便宜且易于调节,因此得到了广泛应用。
  2. 热电偶。应用最广泛的工业传感器,由汇集在一端的两根不同的金属丝组成,它们产生与温度成比例的电压。
  3. 电阻温度检测器(RTD)。通常由铂丝缠绕,虽然很贵,但是可以提供快速响应和良好的测量精度。
  4. 热敏电阻。这些基于半导体的装置在有限的范围内测量温度,并且经常用于医疗应用。
  5. 红外(IR)辐射探测器。这些非接触式传感器可测量表面温度,并分为以下两种类型:红外高温计和红外热像仪。随着越来越多的产品进入市场,两者的使用量迅速增长。

液体玻璃温度计并不在此之列。由于不具备可调节性,因此它们无法校准,只能记录错误。此外,人们还担心有破损的风险,尤其是传统的水银温度计。


温度感应和文档



在许多行业中,仅控制温度是不够的:记录产品所经受的温度或热循环是很重要的。这些记录在食品加工和药品的生产与储存中是必需的。这可以通过具有记录功能的温度控制器来实现。对于安全关键型物品,如轮毂、悬架连杆或制动组件,文档可以帮助制造商证明零件经过了正确的热处理,既不太脆也不太软。

一个日益重要的领域是生产用于汽车和航空航天用途的碳纤维部件。与其他固化过程一样,必须精确控制温度和压力。即使在温度控制对产品性能不重要的情况下,也需要可重复性以保证产品的一致性。

质量管理体系普遍要求对可能影响最终产品质量的所有测量设备进行校准。虽然通常可以理解对测量设备进行校准,但有时会忽略校准温度传感器的重要性。

为什么需要对装置进行校准



应定期检查用于过程关键型测量的每个装置,以验证其是否持续提供所需的精度。在可能进行调节的情况下,测量超出预期限值的装置应恢复到可接受的性能水平,但在不能调节装置的情况下,应记录偏差或测量性能并确定其是否仍然适用于其预期用途。

如果是温度测量设备,双金属和热电偶丝的特性随使用和时间而变化 (特别是在高温下使用时), 导致测量漂移。另外,热电偶探头在使用中可能会发生机械损坏或腐蚀,导致电线快速劣化。RTD和热敏电阻也都是容易损坏的脆弱装置,因此应定期检查。这同样适用于红外温度计和红外热像仪。

校准频率



质量标准通常是由用户决定装置的校准频率。但是,审核员希望对任何校准频率都给出合理的理由。在确定校准频率时,应考虑装置的使用类型、损坏风险和漂移率 (可从历史校准记录中确定)。.

如果校准时发现装置在可接受的限度之外运行,则应实施定义所需操作的程序。例如,可能需要召回自上次校准以来制造的产品(并且这样做的成本可能影响校准频率)。. 在食品或药品生产等安全关键的情况下,可能每天甚至每个班次都需要执行校准。


校准温度测量装置



校准温度传感器的最简单方法是检查它如何读取两个物理常数的温度:冰融化的温度和水的沸点(尽管后者应做大气压校正)。.这种方法虽然速度快,费用低,但有一个缺点:它通常不是NIST可追踪式校准。

Hot Point Dry Block Probe Calibrator

干体式探头校准器克服了这个问题,并提供了一种快速准确的校准热敏电阻、热电偶和RTD探头的方法。像 OMEGA的hot point?干体式探头校准器 这类校准器可用于将热电偶加热到选定的温度,并将指示器上的读数与校准器上的读数进行比较。接下来,使用诸如OMEGA TRCIII 的ice point?参考池来提供0°C比较温度。同样,将指示的读数与校准器上的读数进行比较。可以通过这两个测量值确定校正。

热电偶运行也可以通过模拟探头产生的电信号和对照指示的读数检查预期读数来加以验证。

红外黑体校准器 用于校准非接触式温度测量设备,如热像仪和高温计。它们使用具有“完美”发射率 (在0.95和0.98之间) 的表面,其被加热到一个已知的温度,并与装置上的读数进行比较。 (请注意,虽然精度取决于黑体校准器中温度测量的质量,并且可能只有1%,但重复性应该非常高)。.

Ice Point Calibration Reference Chamber



在企业内部校准还是请校准实验室校准?
对于大多数企业而言,决定性因素是要执行的校准工作量和内部资源的可用性。如果已经执行了仪表校准,则将温度传感器添加到设备列表中仅需要投资干体式探头校准器或黑体校准器。然而,为了确保NIST可追溯性,始终需要进行一些外部校准。

请AS 17025认证实验室校准的重要性
J正如ISO9000为制造公司提供质量管理框架一样,AS17025 (美国对ISO 17025的解释) 对校准实验室也是如此。定义的程序记录了用于校准工作的方法,确保方法稳健并提供适当水平的NIST可追溯性。重点放在向客户传达结果,其中包括有关测量不确定性的信息。

不符合ISO 17025要求的实验室也可以执行令人满意的校准工作,并具有适当的可追溯性。但是,正式的认证意味着客户可以确信将遵循适当的程序,从而为自己节省了验证费用。

对产品质量至关重要
许多制造工艺使用热量来改变产品特性。在某些情况下,精确的温度控制对于确保适用性至关重要,并且纸质记录(温度记录加上校准证据)可验证制造商采取了适当的步骤来保持所生产物品的质量。温度传感器的校准,无论是在内部执行还是承包给专业实验室,都是此活动的重要组成部分。


白皮书
下载以下内容白皮书
温度校准
校准器 | 技术参考
在制造业中如何校准温度? MI电缆在关键流程中的应用以及优势 校准入门手册 非接触式温度测量的理论和应用

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Your Source for Process Measurement & Control

Calibrating Temperature Measurement Devices Used in Manufacturing

Temperature Calibration This article from OMEGA Engineering discusses the calibration of temperature sensors employed in manufacturing and temperature recording, including why and how frequently sensors need calibrating. Calibration equipment options and reasons for and against using an AS17025 calibration laboratory is covered also.

Types of Temperature Sensors



Five types of devices commonly found in manufacturing are:
  1. Bimetal or spring-type thermometers. Widely used despite their slow response and lack of accuracy as they are inexpensive and easily adjusted.
  2. Thermocouples. The most widely used industrial sensor, consisting of two dissimilar metal wires joined at one end, these produce a voltage proportional to temperature.
  3. Resistance-temperature detectors (RTD’s). Typically wound from platinum wire, these are expensive but give rapid response and good measurement accuracy.
  4. Thermistors. These semiconductor-based devices measure temperature over a limited range and are often used in medical applications.
  5. Infrared (IR) radiation detectors. These non-contact sensors measure surface temperature and fall into one of two types: IR pyrometers and thermal imaging cameras. Use of both is growing rapidly as many more products come on to the market.

Absent from this list are liquid-glass thermometers. These cannot be calibrated as their lack of adjustability means it is only possible to note the error. Additionally, there are concerns over the risk of breakage, especially with traditional mercury thermometers.


Temperature Sensing and Documentation



In many industries controlling temperature is insufficient: it is important to have documentation of the temperature or thermal cycle to which the product was subjected. Such logs are required in food processing and pharmaceutical production and storage. This can be accomplished by temperature controllers with recording capabilities. For safety-critical items such as wheel hubs, suspension linkages or brake components, documentation helps a manufacturer prove that a part was heat-treated correctly and was neither too brittle nor too soft.

An area of increasing importance is the production of carbon fiber components for automotive and aerospace use. As with other curing processes, temperature and pressure must be precisely controlled. Even in situations where temperature control is not essential for product performance, repeatability is needed for product consistency.

Quality Management Systems universally require calibration of all measuring equipment that can affect final product quality. While calibration of gauging equipment is usually understood,the importance of calibrating temperature sensors is sometimes overlooked.

Why Devices Need Calibration



Every device used for process-critical measurements should be checked periodically to verify it continues to deliver the required accuracy. Where adjustment is possible, a device measuring outside of expected limits should be brought back to an acceptable performance level, but in the case of non-adjustable equipment the deviation or measurement performance should be recorded and a decision made on whether it remains fit for purpose.

In the case of temperature measurement equipment, the properties of bimetals and thermocouple wire change with use and time (especially when used at elevated temperatures) resulting in measurement drift. Additionally, a thermocouple probe may be damaged in service, possibly mechanically or by corrosion, resulting in rapid deterioration of the wire. RTD’s and thermistors are also both fragile devices and easily damaged, so should be checked periodically. The same applies for IR thermometers and thermal imaging cameras.

Calibration Frequency



Quality standards generally leave it to the user to decide how often a device should be calibrated. However, an auditor will expect a sound justification for whatever frequency is given. When establishing a calibration frequency consideration should be given to type of use the device sees, the risk of damage and the rate of drift (which can be determined from historical calibration records).

Procedures should be implemented defining the actions needed if calibration shows a device is operating outside of acceptable limits. For example, a product manufactured since the last calibration may need to be recalled (and the cost of doing so may influence calibration frequency). In safety critical situations such as food or pharmaceutical production calibration may need performing everyday or even every shift.


Calibrating Temperature Measurement Devices



The simplest way to calibrate a temperature sensor is to check how it reads the temperature of two physical constants: the temperature at which ice melts and the boiling point of water (although the latter should be corrected for atmospheric pressure). While quick and inexpensive, one weakness of this method is that it is typically not a NIST traceable calibration.

Hot Point Dry Block Probe Calibrator

Dry block probe calibrators overcome this problem and provide a quick and accurate means of calibrating thermistor, thermocouple and RTD probes. A calibrator like OMEGA’s hot point® Dry Block Probe Calibrator is used to heat a thermocouple to a chosen temperature and the reading on the indicator compared with that on the Calibrator. Next, an ice point® Reference Cell such as the OMEGA TRCIII is used to provide the 0oC comparison temperature. Again, the indicated reading is compared with that on the calibrator. Corrections can be determined from these two measurements.

Thermocouple operation can also be verified by simulating the electrical signal produced by the probe and checking the expected reading against that indicated.

Infrared Blackbody Calibrators are used for calibrating noncontact temperature measurement equipment such as thermal cameras and pyrometers. These use a surface of “perfect” emissivity (between 0.95 and 0.98) that is heated to a known temperature and compared with the reading from the device. (Note that while accuracy depends on the quality of the temperature measurement within the Blackbody Calibrator, and may only be with 1%, repeatability should be very high).

Ice Point Calibration Reference Chamber

Calibrate In-house Or Use a Calibration Lab?
For most organizations the determining factors are the volume of calibration work to be performed and the availability of inhouse resources. If gauge calibration is already performed, adding temperature sensors to the list of equipment requires only investment in a dry block probe or blackbody calibrator. However, some external calibration is always needed to ensure NIST traceability.

The Importance of Using an AS17025 Acc redited Lab
Just as ISO9000 provides a Quality Management framework for manufacturing companies, AS17025 (the US interpretation of ISO 17025) does the same for calibration laboratories. Defined procedures document the methods used for the calibration work undertaken, ensuring methods are robust and provide an appropriate level of NIST traceability. Significant emphasis is placed on communicating results to customers, and this includes information on measurement uncertainty.

A lab not meeting the requirements of ISO 17025 may perform satisfactory calibration work with appropriate levels of traceability. However, formal accreditation means a customer can be confident that appropriate procedures will be followed and so is spared the expense of verifying this for themselves.

Essential to Product Quality
Many manufacturing processes use heat to modify product characteristics. In some cases precise temperature control is essential to ensure fitness for purpose, and a paper trail (temperature logs plus evidence of calibration) verifies the manufacturer took appropriate steps to maintain the quality of the items produced. Calibration of temperature sensors, whether performed in-house or contracted to a specialist lab, is an essential part of this activity.


WHITE PAPER
Download our white paper on
Temperature Calibration
Calibrator | Tech Reference
How to Calibrate Temperature Measurement Devices Used in Manufacturing Applications and Benefits of MI Cable in Critical Processes Temperature Transmitter Scaling Methodologies What is a Thermowell? | Technical Learning