购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

温度传感器简史

对热冷的感知是人类体验的基础,然而找出测量温度的方法却难倒了很多伟人。目前尚不清楚是古希腊人还是中国人最早找到测温的方法,就我们所知,温度传感器的历史从文艺复兴时期开始。

测量的挑战

Robert Hooke
Robert Hooke
Ole Roemer
Ole Roemer
热用来衡量一个整体或一块材料的能量——能量越多,物体越热。但不像质量和长度这样的物理性质,热很难衡量。大部分测量方法都是间接的,即通过观察加热时物体的效果,以此来推断温度。

创造一种测量刻度一直都是一个挑战。1664年,罗伯特·胡克提议用水的冰点作为基准点,以此来测量温度。同一时期,奥勒·雷默发现确定两个固定点很有必要,这样可以在两点间插入温度。他选择的点就是胡克的冰点和水的沸点。当然,这也留下了一个开放性的问题,即如何得到热物体和冷物体的温度。

盖·吕萨克和其他研究气体定律的科学家解答了这个问题。19世纪时期,他们在观察恒压下温度对气体的影响时,发现温度升高1摄氏度,体积就会增大1/267,(后来修改为1/273.15)。由此引出了负273.15°C零点的概念。

观察膨胀:液体和双金属

据报道,伽利略在1592年左右建造了一个显示温度变化的装置。这似乎是运用一个容器内空气的收缩来影响水柱,而水柱的高度暗示了冷却的程度。然而,这很容易受空气压力的影响,只算是个新奇的事物。

目前我们所知的温度计是由三托里奥(Santorio Santorii)在意大利于1612年发明的。他把液体密封在一个玻璃管内,观察其膨胀时的移动。在管子上做一些刻度更容易观察变化,但这套系统还是缺少精准的单元。

和雷默一起共事的是加布里埃尔·华伦海特。他用酒精和水银作为液体,开始生产温度计。水银是完美的,因为它在一个大范围内对温度变化有着线性的响应,但它具有毒性,使用越来越少。人们开发了其他的液体来替代它。尽管控制球状物浸入的深度很重要,但液体温度计目前仍被广泛使用。使用热电偶有助于保证良好的热传递。

双金属温度传感器发明于19世纪末期。它利用了两种金属片结合时的不均匀膨胀现象。温度改变造成金属片弯曲,这可用来激活类似于用在气格栅里的恒温器或计量器。这种传感器的精度不高,可能是正负两度,但因其低廉的价格,它们的应用也十分广泛。
Galileo Galilei
Galileo Galilei
 
Santorio Santorii
Santorio Santorii
 
Burial Plaque of Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit
华伦海特的墓地牌匾

热电效应

19世纪初期,电是科学探究中令人兴奋的领域,科学家很快就发现不同金属具有不同的电阻和传导性。1821年,托马斯·约翰塞贝克发现把不同的金属末端连在一起,然后放在不同温度下,就会产生电压。珀尔贴发现热电偶效应可逆,且能用来冷却。

同一年,汉弗莱·戴维演示了金属的电阻率和温度相关。五年后,贝克雷尔提议用铂-铂热电偶进行温度测量,但直到1829年才由利奥波德真正创造了这个设备。

铂也可用在电阻温度探测器中,这由迈尔斯在1932年发明。它测量一段长度的铂线的电阻,并逐渐被认为是测量最精准的温度传感器类型。绕线RTD具有易碎的特征,因此不适合工业应用。近些年见证了薄膜RTD的发展,薄膜RTD精度不及绕线RTD,但它更加坚固。

20世纪也见证了半导体测温设备的发明。半导体测温设备响应温度变化,且具有高精度,但直到最近,它还是缺少线性度。

热辐射

William Herschel
William Herschel
Samuel Langley
Samuel Langley
非常热的金属和熔融金属会发热,散发出热量和可见光。在较低温度下,它们也会辐射热能,但具有更长的波长。英国天文学家威廉·赫歇尔在1800年首次发现这个“模糊”光或红外光会产热。在和同胞梅洛尼一起工作时,罗贝里发现了探测这种辐射能量的方法,即把热电偶一系列地连接起来,产生热电堆。

紧接其后的是1878年的辐射热测定器。这由美国塞缪尔·兰利发明,它采用两根铂条,一根在单臂电桥安排中变黑。红外辐射加热产生了可测量的电阻变化。

辐射热测定器对大范围波长的红外线很敏感。与此相反,自1940年代开始发展的辐射量子探测器类型的设备只对一个有限波段内的红外线做出响应。

今天,价格便宜的高温计应用十分广泛,而且热成像摄像机价格下滑,应用将会更加广泛。

温标

Anders Celsius
Anders Celsius
Lord Kelvin
Lord Kelvin
当华氏制作温度计时,他意识到他需要一个温标。他把30度盐水设为冰点,把超过180度盐水设为沸点。随后,便开始使用纯水,纯水在一个稍高的温度下结冰,即在32华氏度结冰,在212华氏度沸腾。

25年后,安德斯·摄氏提议用0到100的标度,今天的“摄氏度”也就是用他的名字命名的。后来,威廉·汤姆森发现了在标度一端设定固定点的好处,随后,开尔文提议把绝对零度设置为摄氏度系统的起点。这就形成了今天科学领域使用的开氏温标。

今天,温度测量温标在国际温度系统90文件(简称ITS-90)中有所定义。想要查阅或更好理解温度单元的读者应当获取这份文件。

白皮书
下载以下内容白皮书
温度传感器,测温方法,测温历史
相关主题
temperature sensor
温度传感器 | 技术参考
温度传感器:优势和劣势 温度传感器简史 热电偶及热电偶组件简介 --No Title-- 防止热电偶和RTD传感器振动损伤 温度控制器简介

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Your Source for Process Measurement & Control

A Brief History of the Temperature Sensor

Temperature History The sensations of hot and cold are fundamental to the human experience, yet finding ways to measure temperature has challenged many great minds. It’s unclear if the ancient Greeks or Chinese had ways to measure temperature, so as far as we know, the history of temperature sensors began during the Renaissance.

The Measurement Challenge

Robert Hooke
Robert Hooke
Ole Roemer
Ole Roemer
Heat is a measure of the energy in a body or material — the more energy, the hotter it is. But unlike physical properties of mass and length, it’s been difficult to measure. Most methods have been indirect, observing the effect that heat has on something and deducing temperature from this.

Creating a scale of measurement has been a challenge, too. In 1664, Robert Hooke proposed the freezing point of water be used as a zero point, with temperatures being measured from this. Around the same time, Ole Roemer saw the need for two fixed points, allowing interpolation between them. The points he chose were Hooke’s freezing point and also the boiling point of water. This, of course, leaves open the question of how hot or cold things can get.

That was answered by Gay-Lussac and other scientists working on the gas laws. During the 19th century, while investigating the effect of temperature on gas at a constant pressure, they observed that volume rises by the fraction of 1/267 per degree Celsius, (later revised to 1/273.15). This led to the concept of absolute zero at minus 273.15°C.

Observing Expansion: Liquids and Bimetals

Galileo is reported to have built a device that showed changes in temperature sometime around 1592. This appears to have used the contraction of air in a vessel to draw up a column of water, the height of the column indicating the extent of cooling. However, this was strongly influenced by air pressure and was little more than a novelty.

The thermometer as we know it was invented in 1612 in what is now Italy by Santorio Santorii. He sealed liquid inside a glass tube, observing how it moved up the tube as it expanded. A scale on the tube made it easier to see changes, but the system lacked precise units.

Working with Roemer was Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit. He began manufacturing thermometers, using both alcohol and mercury as the liquid. Mercury is ideal, as it has a very linear response to temperature change over a large range, but concerns over toxicity have led to reduced use. Other liquids have now been developed to replace it. Liquid thermometers are still widely used, although it is important to control the depth at which the bulb is immersed. Using a thermowell helps ensure good heat transfer.

The bimetallic temperature sensor was invented late in the 19th century. This takes advantage of the differential expansion of two metal strips bonded together. Temperature changes create bending that can be used to activate a thermostat or a gauge similar to those used in gas grills. Accuracy is low — perhaps plus or minus 2 degrees — but these sensors are inexpensive, so they have many applications.
Galileo Galilei
Galileo Galilei
 
Santorio Santorii
Santorio Santorii
 
Burial Plaque of Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit
Burial Plaque of Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit

Thermoelectric Effects

Early in the 19th century, electricity was an exciting area of scientific investigation, and scientists soon discovered that metals varied in their resistance and conductivity. In 1821, Thomas Johann Seebeck discovered that a voltage is created when the ends of dissimilar metals are joined and placed at different temperatures. Peltier discovered that this thermocouple effect is reversible and can be used for cooling.

In the same year, Humphrey Davey demonstrated how the electrical resistivity of a metal is related to temperature. Five years later, Becquerel proposed using a platinum-platinum thermocouple for temperature measurement, but it took until 1829 for Leopoldo Nobili to actually create the device.

Platinum is also used in the resistance temperature detector invented in 1932 by C.H. Meyers. This measures the electrical resistance of a length of platinum wire and is generally considered the most accurate type of temperature sensor. RTDs using wire are by nature fragile and unsuitable for industrial applications. Recent years have seen the development of film RTDs, which are less accurate but more robust.

The 20th century also saw the invention of semiconductor temperature measurement devices. These respond to temperature changes with good accuracy but until recently lacked linearity.

Thermal Radiation

William Herschel
William Herschel
Samuel Langley
Samuel Langley
Very hot and molten metals glow, giving off heat and visible light. They radiate heat at lower temperatures, too, but at longer wavelengths. English astronomer William Herschel was the first to recognize, around 1800, that this “dark” or infrared light causes heating. Working with his compatriot Melloni, Nobili found a way to detect this radiated energy by connecting thermocouples in a series to make a thermopile.

This was followed in 1878 by the bolometer. Invented by American Samuel Langley, it used two platinum strips, one of which was blackened, in a Wheatstone bridge arrangement. Heating by infrared radiation caused a measurable change in resistance.

Bolometers are sensitive to infrared light across a wide range of wavelengths. In contrast, the photon detector-type devices developed since the 1940s tend to respond only to infrared in a limited wave band. Lead sulfide detectors are sensitive to wavelengths up to 3 microns while the discovery of HgCdTe ternary alloy in 1959 opened the door to detectors tailored to specific wavelengths.

Today, inexpensive infrared pyrometers are used widely, and thermal cameras are finding more applications as their prices drop.

Temperature Scales

Anders Celsius
Anders Celsius
Lord Kelvin
Lord Kelvin
When Fahrenheit was making thermometers, he realized he needed a temperature scale. He set the freezing point of salt water at 30 degrees and its boiling point 180 degrees higher. Subsequently, it was decided to use pure water, which freezes at a slightly higher temperature, giving us freezing at 32°F and boiling at 212°F.

A quarter century later, Anders Celsius proposed the 0 to 100 scale, which today bears his name. Later, seeing the benefit in a fixed point at one end of the scale, William Thomson, later Lord Kelvin, proposed using absolute zero as the starting point of the Celsius system. That led to the Kelvin scale, used today in the scientific field.

Today, temperature measurement scales are defined in a document titled International Temperature System 90, or ITS-90 for short. Readers that would like to check or better understand their measurement units should obtain a copy.

WHITE PAPER
Download our white paper on
Temperature History
Related topics
Temperature Sensor
Temperature Sensor | Tech Reference
Measuring Temperature in Electromagnetic Environments Temperature Signal Conditioning: Converting Outputs from Temperature Sensor What is a Thermowell? | Technical Learning What are Nanosensors? | Temperature Measurement History of Temperature Measurement Temperature Transmitter Scaling Methodologies