购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

过 程 测 量 与 控 制 的 最 佳 选 择 !

防止热电偶和RTD传感器振动损伤

热电偶,电阻温度检测器,或RTD是最常用的温度传感器。热电偶采用了塞贝克效应,即两种不同的金属连接在两连接点产生电动势,或EMF。金属对温度变化作出反应,并根据连接处温差产生电势电压。RTD电阻随温度的升高而增大。用于装配传感器的金属会影响精度、测量范围、响应时间和环境压力源电阻,如振动。
Grounded Junction
Grounded Junction,
OMEGACLAD® Probes
Ungrounded Junction
Ungrounded Junction,
OMEGACLAD® Probes
1PT100G Glass Wire-Wound RTDs
1PT100G Glass Wire-Wound RTDs
TFD Thin-Film RTD shown magnified
TFD Thin-Film RTD shown magnified
热电偶可接地或不接地。它们通常被保护金属覆盖着,但可能会暴露部分来提高响应时间。人们常常要求热电偶接地,以防止静电电荷累积,对精度产生负面影响。然而,如果热电偶与机械或其它电气供电设备接地,电路噪声可能会干扰测量。热电偶的结构中使用了许多不同的金属组合。每一个组合根据温度范围和可接受的测量环境进行分类。包裹在金属中的热电偶相当平稳,受到的振动影响比RTD少得多。

RTD可用于钢丝缠绕或薄膜类型传感器。钢丝缠绕传感器精度极高。它们由围绕在玻璃芯、或围绕在用金属丝熔化形成的陶瓷芯周围的铜,镍或铂丝组成。玻璃芯传感器不需保护,可浸在大多数液体中,而那些陶瓷芯可以为极高的温度测量提供稳定性。铂是最优选的金属丝,因为它提供了在最广泛的温度范围内的最佳精度。ASTM-E1137是定义铂电阻传感器公差的国际标准。它经常被用作选择温度传感器的标准之一,因为根据这个规格生产测试的RTD可提供更好的可靠性和性能。

薄膜RTD提供比绕线RTD更多的振动保护。它们是由在陶瓷基板上镀上一层钝化铂膜而产生的。电路被蚀刻到材料中,以创造最佳的电阻。这些传感器显示出一个线性电阻温度曲线。因此,它们在一个广泛的温度范围内提供高精度和稳定的测量。其紧凑的尺寸使其响应时间更短,且对热冲击和振动具有更大的抵抗能力。

振动条件下温度测量面临的挑战

振动会在热电偶和RTD导线中引起机械压力。热电偶受振动疲劳影响,会导致绝缘失效和短路。这可以从短路测量而非连接点测量的间歇性高读数中显现出来。绕线RTD特别易受振动损害。用来缠绕传感器的优良铂线具有典型的15至35微米的直径,十分容易破碎。一个破损的RTD传感器导线可能导致:
  • 开放电路
  • 噪音信号
  • 偶发高温测量
标定降级是热电偶在振动条件下可能发生的另一故障。当线的结构改变,直至电压温度特征不再符合国际标准时,这个现象就会发生。标定降级主要的顾虑是温度测量看似准确,但随着时间的推移,读数会逐渐改变。用热电偶测试已知温度是测试标定降级最常用的方法。

影响传感器的振动类型

机械振动在工业过程中十分常见。它们可能来自马达、泵或压缩机的移动。造成损害的倾向与振动的振幅和频率成正比。振幅是应用到物体而产生振动的力。例如,电动机中的旋转速度对振动的振幅有影响。马达旋转越快,振幅就越大。频率也是影响振动强烈程度的一个因素。它是该机械装置在力的作用下来回移动的速度。一台机器如果具有不同振幅和频率的速率,则可在多个方向上振动。

大量的机械系统产生声学振动,如涡轮机和发动机,以及人的声音和交通车辆。当噪声进入结构,就变成了结构振动。只要有气流,声波就可以传播到任何地方,因此,它们可以来自任何方向。回响是原声音停止后的延续。这是声波从表面反射的结果。声学特征会随着它们所反射物体的大小和形状而改变,这使得人们很难预测它们会怎样反应。

流动引发的振动来源于流体流动和被侵入结构惯性或覆盖惯性之间力的相互作用。流体流动是可产生机械和结构振动的能量源。在圆筒形结构中,根据圆筒轴线相关的向内流动角度,振动被分为轴流式诱导或错流式诱导。

抗振热电偶和RTD

欧米茄PR-21SL RTD设计用于热电偶套管,设有弹簧负载以维持静态和振动下热电偶套管与探头的接触。这保证了热电偶套管和探头之间的最优传热,并且使传感器隔离振动。PR-21SL RTD可用在双线、三线或四线的应用中,并符合标准0.26英寸口径热电偶套管。一个可调节自动夹紧弹簧允许它在较短的热电偶套管中使用。

欧米茄的PR-31 RTD探头可弯曲且抗振动。该探头由316不锈钢构成,且其矿物绝缘电缆允许探针弯曲。PR-31RTD符合MIL-STD-202G、方法204D和条件A的振动测试标准,其测量范围在-50℃和500℃之间。它可用于100欧姆和1000欧姆,并且还可以用于双线、三线或四线的应用程序中。

M12M系列热电偶探针可在安装过程或热电偶套管中暴露使用。该探针可作为带铬镍铁合金600护套K型热电偶或带304不锈钢护套J型热电偶使用。K型温度范围为-40℃至1150℃,而J型温度范围为-40℃至600℃。M12标配未接地端;有接地端可选。
Load Cell
PR-21SL RTD
 
Load Cell
PR-31 RTD Probe
 
Load Cell
M12M Thermocouple Probe

结论

为您的应用程序选择合适的RTD或热电偶,可以优化性能并防止传感器损坏。热电偶是温度测量多功能、便宜的手段,并能对振动提供最佳的保护。绕线RTD提供卓越的精度和广泛的测量范围,但没有弹性。薄膜RTD提供高精度、稳定的数据,并提供比绕线RTD更大的抗振能力。 “欧米茄可为剧烈振动的环境提供定制设计的解决方案。”

白皮书
下载以下内容白皮书
抵抗振动
相关主题
Thermocouples RTD

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Your Source for Process Measurement & Control

Preventing Vibration Damage to Thermocouples and RTD Sensors

Vibration Resistance Thermocouples operate on the principle of the Seebeck effect, which states that two dissimilar metals joined at two junctions generate an electromotive force, or EMF, at the junctions. The metals react to changes in temperature to produce an EMF voltage in relation to the difference in temperature at the junction. RTDs function on the precept that electrical resistance increases with increasing temperature. The types of metal used to fabricate the sensor impact accuracy, measurement range, response time and resistance to environmental stressors such as vibration.
Grounded Junction
Grounded Junction,
OMEGACLAD® Probes
Ungrounded Junction
Ungrounded Junction,
OMEGACLAD® Probes
1PT100G Glass Wire-Wound RTDs
1PT100G Glass Wire-Wound RTDs
TFD Thin-Film RTD shown magnified
TFD Thin-Film RTD shown magnified
Thermocouple junctions may be grounded or ungrounded. They are often covered with protective metal but may be left exposed to improve response time. Grounding is frequently required to prevent buildup of static charge, which may negatively impact accuracy. However, if the thermocouple is grounded to machinery or other electrically powered equipment, circuit noise may interfere with the measurement. A number of different metal combinations are used in the construction of thermocouples. Each is classified according to temperature range and acceptable measuring environments. Thermocouples encased in metal are quite robust and, on average, much less susceptible to vibration than RTDs.

RTDs are available in wire-wound or thin-film types. Wirewound sensors are highly accurate. They are made by winding copper, nickel or platinum wire around a glass or ceramic core to which the wire is also fused. Glass-core sensors can be immersed in most liquids without protection while those with a ceramic core offer stability for exceptionally high temperature measurements. Platinum is the most preferred wire, since it provides the best accuracy over the broadest temperature range. ASTM E1137 is the international standard that defines tolerances for platinum resistance sensors. It is frequently used as one of the criteria for selecting a temperature sensor, as RTDs manufactured and tested according to this specification offer greater reliability and better performance.

Thin-film RTDs offer substantially more vibration protection than wire-wound RTDs. They are produced by depositing a thin film of passivated platinum on a ceramic substrate. An electrical circuit is etched into the material to create the preferred resistance. These sensors display a practically linear temperature-resistance curve. Therefore, they provide highly accurate and consistent measurements over a broad temperature range. Their compact size gives them the advantage of faster response times and greater resistance to thermal shock and vibration.

Challenges Presented to Temperature Measurements in the Presence of Vibration

Vibration can cause mechanical stress in the wires of thermocouples and RTDs. Thermocouples are subject to vibration fatigue, which can lead to insulation failure and short circuits. This may be evident from intermittently high readings resulting from the measurement being taken at the short rather than at the junction. Wire-wound RTDs are especially susceptible to vibration damage. The fine platinum wire used to wind the sensor has a typical diameter of 15 to 35 microns and is quite fragile. A broken or damaged RTD sensor wire may result in:
  • An open circuit
  • Noisy signals
  • Sporadically high temperature measurements
Decalibration is another fault condition that may occur in thermocouples exposed to vibration. This is the process whereby the structure of the wire is altered to where the voltage-temperature characteristics no longer conform to international standards. The major concern with decalibration is that the temperature measurements appear to be accurate. The readings will drift gradually over time. Testing the thermocouple against a known temperature is the most common method of detecting decalibration.

Types of Vibrations that Affect Sensors

Machine vibrations are common in industrial processes. They can arise from the movement of motors, pumps or compressors. The propensity to cause damage is proportional to the amplitude and frequency of the vibration. The amplitude is the force being applied to an object that is producing the vibration. For example, the speed of rotation in an electric motor will contribute to the amplitude of vibration. The faster the motor rotates, the greater the amplitude. Frequency is also a factor in the severity of vibration. It is the rate at which a mechanical device moves back and forth under force. A machine can vibrate in multiple directions with varying rates of amplitude and frequency.

Acoustical vibrations are generated by a large number of mechanical systems, such as turbines and engines, as well as human voices and vehicle traffic. When acoustical noise enters a structure, it becomes structural vibration. Sound waves can travel anywhere there is air flow; therefore, they can come from any direction. Reverberation is the continuance of sound after the original has ceased. This is the result of sound waves reflecting from surfaces. Acoustic characteristics can vary depending on the size and shape of objects they reflect from, making it difficult to predict how they will react.

Flow-induced vibrations result from the interaction of forces between fluid flow and the inertia of structures immersed in or conveying it. Fluid flow is a source of energy capable of producing mechanical and structural vibration. In cylindrical structures, vibrations are classified as either axial-flow induced or cross-flow-induced, depending upon the angle of inward flow in relation to the cylinder axis.

Vibration Resistant Thermocouples and RTDs

The OMEGA PR-21SL RTD is designed for use in thermowells and features spring loading to sustain contact between the probe and the thermowell in the presence of static and vibration. This ensures optimal heat transfer between the thermowell and probe and insulates the sensor against vibration. The PR-21SL RTD can be used in two-, three- or four-wire applications and fits standard 0.26-inch bore thermowells. An adjustable, self gripping spring allows it to be used in shorter thermowells.

OMEGA’s PR-31 RTD probe is bendable and vibration resistant. The probe is constructed of 316 stainless steel, and the mineral-insulated cable allows the probe to be bent. The PR-31 RTD is vibration tested to MIL-STD-202G, Method 204D, Condition A and has a measuring range between -50 and 500°C. It is available in 100 and 1000Ω and can be used in 2-, 3- or 4-wire applications.

The M12M Series thermocouple probes can be used exposed, mounted into the process, or in a thermowell. The probes are available as a Type K thermocouple with Inconel 600 sheaths or a Type J with 304 stainless steel sheaths. The Type K has a temperature range between -40 and 1150°C, and the Type J has a temperature range of -40 to 600°C. The M12M comes standard with an ungrounded junction; a grounded junction is optional.
Load Cell
PR-21SL RTD
 
Load Cell
PR-31 RTD Probe
 
Load Cell
M12M Thermocouple Probe

Conclusion

Choosing the right RTD or thermocouple for you application will optimize performance and prevent sensor damage. Thermocouples are a versatile and cost-effective means of temperature measurement and offer the best protection against vibration. Wire-wound RTDs offer superior accuracy and a wider measurement range but are not as resilient. Thin film RTDs provide highly accurate and consistent data and offer greater resistance to vibration than wire-wound RTDs. OMEGA also has custom engineered solutions for very severe vibration environments.

WHITE PAPER
Download our white paper on
Vibration Resistance
Related topics
Thermocouples RTD
Vibration Resistant RTD | Tech Reference
RTD & Thermocouples for Applications with Process Vibration Sensors Play a Vital Role in Commercial Space Mission Success Pressure Switch Deadband | Technical Learning What is a Thermowell? | Technical Learning Applications and Benefits of MI Cable in Critical Processes Coriolis Mass Flow Meter Accuracy, Rangeability & Sizing