购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

涡街流量计

什么是涡街流量计?

涡街流量计是一种流量测量设备,特别适用于因有活动部件出现问题的流量测量场合。拥有工业级、黄铜或全塑结构可供选择。涡街流量计对过程条件变化的灵敏度较低,不含活动部件,因此与其他类型的流量计相比磨损度相对较低。

涡街流量计基于旋涡脱离原理,当水等流体流过阻流体(非流线型物体)时,会出现振荡旋涡。旋涡脱离的频率取决于阻流体的大小和形状。涡街流量计是低维护成本型应用的理想之选。工业级涡街流量计为定制型设计,需要进行适当的尺寸调整来满足特定应用的需求。

涡街流量计

什么是涡街流量计?

常见的旋涡脱离现象

风吹过旗杆时也能观察到旋涡脱离现象;正因为这样才会观察到旗帜的涟漪飘动。旋涡同样会从桥墩、桩材、海上钻油平台支柱和高层建筑周围脱离。设计这些建筑结构时,必须将涡旋脱离现象所引起的力考虑在内。

旋涡脱离的历史

美籍匈牙利物理学家希欧多尔•冯•卡门首先对这一效应进行了描述,即将非流线型物体(又称阻流体)放入快速流动的水流时,下游水流会在该物体两侧交替分开,当边界层分离然后回卷时,便会形成旋涡(也称为涡或涡旋)。他还注意到,旋涡之间一直保持固定的距离,该距离仅取决于产生旋涡的岩石大小。

在阻流体产生旋涡的一侧,流速较高但压力较低。随着旋涡向下游移动,其强度和尺寸都会变大,最终分离或脱开。然后阻流体的另一侧形成新的旋涡。交替出现的旋涡之间的距离相等。

涡街流量计的设计

涡街流量计一般由316不锈钢或哈氏合金®制成,包含一个阻流体、一个涡街传感器组件和变送器电路,其中变送器电路可远程安装。其适用的标准法兰尺寸为1/2英寸至12英寸。涡街流量计的安装成本与小于六英寸的孔板流量计成本相当。夹持式流量计(无法兰)的成本最低,如果过程流体是有害或高温流体,则优先采用带法兰的流量计。

阻流体的形状(方形、矩形、T 形、锥形)和尺寸经过实验,能够实现所需的功能特性。测试表明,线性度、低雷诺数限制和对流速分布畸变的敏感度仅随阻流体的形状轻微变化。尺寸上,阻流体的宽度必须可与管道直径比拟,才能使全部流体参与到旋涡的脱离。第二,阻流体朝向上游的表面必须呈现凸缘,才能在任何流量下固定住流动分离线,与流体流速无关。第三,阻流体沿流动方向的长度必须是阻流体宽度的特定倍数。

大多数涡街流量计采用压电式或电容式传感器来检测阻流体周围的压力振荡。这些检测器会响应压力振荡,输出与振荡同频率的低电压信号。这是一种模块化的低价传感器,容易更换,且能工作于大范围的温度——从低温液体到过热蒸汽。传感器置于流量计的内部或外部均可。与流体接触的传感器能直接感受旋涡压力波动所造成的应力,封闭于坚硬的外壳可抵御腐蚀和侵蚀。

外部传感器通常采用压电应变计,能通过旋涡发生杆的受力间接检测旋涡脱离现象。在高腐蚀性/侵蚀性的应用中,优先选用外部传感器以降低维护成本,而内部传感器则具备更好的调幅范围(低流量灵敏度更佳)。它们同样对管道振动不敏感。电子器件外壳通常是防爆耐候,包含电子变送器模块、接线端子和可选的流量指示器和/或累加器。

选择涡街流量计前需要考虑的关键因素

1.所要测量的流体是什么?
2.最大和最小压力
3.流量范围
4.流体温度
5.流体密度范围
6.粘度范围
7.管径
8.可接受的最高压降
9.管号或壁厚
10.管材
11.最近上游阻碍

涡街流量计的类型

智能涡街流量计提供数字输出信号,除了流量以外还包含更多信息。流量计中的微处理器能够对直管流动不充分、内径与配对管内径差值、阻流体热膨胀以及当雷诺数低于10,000时的K系数变化等情况自动进行修正。

智能变送器还具备诊断子程序,传递组件故障或其它故障信息。智能变送器可执行测试程序以确认流量计或应用过程中的问题。这些按需执行的测试还有助于 ISO 9000 认证。

一些涡街流量计能够检测质量流量。这种设计可同时测量旋涡频率和旋涡脉冲强度。根据读数可确定过程流体的密度,计算获得质量流量误差在量程的2%以内。

另一种设计配备多个传感器,不仅用于检测旋涡频率,还能检测过程流体的温度和压力。根据这些数据,可以得出密度和质量流量。该流量计在测量液体质量流量时的准确度为流量的1.25%,测量气体或蒸汽的准确度为流量的2%。如果出于其它原因而特别重视过程压力与温度,采用该流量计要比安装单独变送器更为方便,成本也更低。

涡街流量计的类型

顶部
塑料涡街流量计用于腐蚀性液体的涡街流量计
不含活动部件,所有电子器件均封装在耐腐蚀外壳内。与含有金属或活动部件的仪表不同,塑料涡街流量计可完美适用于腐蚀性或易污染的流体。从超纯水到高腐蚀性化学品和浆液,应用范围非常广泛。
工业涡街流量计工业涡街流量计
用于测量蒸汽、气体和低粘度液体。流体流动产生的漩涡会形成应力脉冲作用于旋涡发生杆,旋涡发生杆则应力脉冲传送至封装的压电传感器。
气体质量流量计楔形流量计
可提供简单可靠的节流差压式流量感测。用户能够以任何管道取向(水平、垂直或倒置)对其进行安装。楔形流量计通常结构紧凑,坚固耐用,可提供多种校准范围,以适应工艺用水应用的典型需求。
超声波流量计涡街流量计
该款涡街流量计的工作原理与涡街测量原理相同,适用于与黄铜、PVDF和FKM相容的粘性、清洁或污浊的水状液体。可在大多数加工工业中使用,包括橡胶、钢铁、装配、制造、精炼、造纸、化工、食品、石油化工和电力。不适用于易燃液体或空气等气体。

常见问题

顶部

应用与限制

涡街流量计通常不建议用于定量或者其它间歇流动应用。这是因为定量控制的涓流流量设定低于流量计的雷诺数下限。定量越小,结果误差可能会越大。

低压(低密度)气体无法产生足够强的压力脉冲,尤其是流速较低时。因此,这种工况下的流量计其调幅范围会变得很小,以致于无法测量小流量。另一方面,如果可接受采用减小的调幅范围,而且尺寸上针对正常流量选择得当,那么涡街流量计仍然值得考虑。

但如果过程流体容易覆盖或沉积在阻流体上,比如污泥或泥浆工况,最终会导致流量计的K系数发生变化。不建议在这些应用场合中采用涡街流量计。然而,如果肮脏流体中仅含不多且不易沉积覆盖的颗粒,则可接受使用涡街流量计。这一点已从一个为期2年的石灰石泥浆测试中得以验证。在测试的结束阶段,尽管阻流体和流量管已经布满划痕和凹坑,但K系数仅与出厂校准值偏差了0.3%。

当测量多相流体(气体或液体中存在固态颗粒;液体中含有气泡;气体中含有液滴)时,涡街流量计的准确度会降低,因为流量计无法辨别这些相态。湿润、低品质的蒸汽便是一个例子:液相物质应均匀分布于蒸汽中,并应避免采用竖直管道以防塞流。对于水平管道,液相物质往往会在管道底部流动,因此应保持管道内面底部的畅通。可以通过安装水平放置的阻流体来实现这一点。在这种工况中的测量不准确度约为实际流量的5%,但重复性仍良好。

涡街流量计的永久性压力损失约为孔板的一半,大致为2个速度头。(速度头定义为V2/g,其中V是流速,g是具有一致单位的引力常量。)如果管道和流量计的尺寸配置得当且尺寸相同,压降很可能仅有几个psi。然而,为了增大雷诺数而缩小尺寸(安装小于管道尺寸的流量计)会使水头损失增大至 10 psi以上。另外还需要确保缩流断面压力不得低于过程流体的蒸气压,因为这将导致空蚀。一般来说,如果流量计的背压低于蒸气压,过程流体会发生闪蒸,导致流量计测出无意义的读数。

涡街流量计的主要优点是对过程条件变化的敏感度低,以及比孔板或涡轮流量计更耐磨损。另外,初始成本和维护成本也很低。为此,它们的应用更为广泛。

安装建议

在流量范围未知的已有过程中安装涡街流量计时,建议先进行大致的测量(利用便携式的皮托管或钳式超声波装置)。否则,无法保证与管道尺寸相同的涡街流量计能够正常工作。

涡街流量计要求流速稳定且对称分布,不得存在畸变或旋涡。这必须利用上下游的直管道对流体进行调节。直管的尺寸必须与流量计相同,其长度应与孔口装置的要求长度大致相近,β比为0.7。大多数涡街流量计制造商建议在控制阀下游铺设长度至少为30倍管径的直管段,且流量计与下游测压孔之间的距离为3至4倍管径。温度元件的尺寸要小,置于下游5至6倍管径的位置。

对于尺寸过大的过程管道,约半数涡街流量计要求通过同心收缩管和同心扩张管的形式形成颈缩。即便安装整流器,仍要求设置一定长度的直(松弛)管段。

涡街流量计既可竖直安装,也可水平安装,甚至能够倾斜任意角度,只需确保流体淹没流量计即可。安装于竖直向上流动的管道中可保持流量计被流体淹没。当流量计安装在向下或水平流动的管道时,下游管道应提升至高位。当管道内没有流体流过时,可采用止回阀保持管道内充满流体。在某些设计中,如果更换传感器之前需要关停流动并中断过程,则需要采用切断阀和旁路阀。

配对法兰(用于40号或80号配合管道)必须具有与流量计一样相同的直径和光滑的内腔。优先采用对焊法兰,而不应使用渐缩法兰。配合管道内表面在流量计上游4倍直径和下游2倍直径距离内不应存在氧化皮、凹坑、孔洞、铰痕和凸起。必须小心地使流量计的内孔与垫圈和邻接管道对齐,以避免形成流动障碍或阶梯。

支撑流量计两侧的管道,或者旋转流量计的方位使传感器移离振动面,均可避免过度的管道振动。由震颤的阀门、疏水器或泵所发出的过程噪音会导致读数过高或在零流量情况下产生非零读数。大多数流量计电路均考虑到增强噪声滤波的设置,但削弱噪声的同时也会降低流量计对小流量的灵敏度。其中一种办法是重新将流量计置于噪声较小的工位

Cart  |  Contact  |  Help  | 
US and Canada1-888-826-6342
International1-203-359-1660

Your One-Stop Source for Process Measurement & Control!

Vortex Flow Meter

What is a Vortex Flow Meter?

A vortex flow meter is a flow measurement device best suited for flow measurements where the introduction of moving parts presents problems. They are available in industrial grade, brass or all plastic construction. Sensitivity to variations in the process conditions are low and with no moving parts have relatively low wear compared to other types of flow meters.

Vortex flow meters operate under the vortex shedding principle, where an oscillating vortexes occur when a fluid such as water flow past a bluff (as opposed to streamlined) body. The frequency that the vortexes are shed depend on the size and shape of the body. It is ideal for applications where low maintenance costs are important. Industrial size vortex meters are custom built and require appropriate sizing for specific applications.

Vortex Flow Meter

What is a Vortex Flow Meter?

Common Vortex Shedding Phenomenon

The vortex-shedding phenomenon can be observed as wind is shed from a flagpole: it is what causes the regular rippling in a flag. Vortices are also shed from bridge piers, pilings, offshore drilling platform supports, and tall buildings. The forces caused by the vortex-shedding phenomenon must be taken into account when designing these structures.

Vortex-Shedding History

Theodore von Karman, a Hungarian-American physicist, was the first to describe the effect where a non-streamlined object (also called a bluff body) placed in the path of a fast-flowing stream, causes the fluid to alternately separate from the object on its two downstream sides, and, as the boundary layer becomes detached and curls back on itself, forming vortices (also called whirlpools or eddies). He also noted that the distance between the vortices was constant and depended solely on the size of the rock that formed it.

On the side of the bluff body where the vortex is being formed, the fluid velocity is higher and the pressure is lower. As the vortex moves downstream, it grows in strength and size, and eventually detaches or sheds itself. This is followed by a vortex's being formed on the other side of the bluff body. The alternating vortices are spaced at equal distances.

Vortex Meter Design

A vortex flowmeter is typically made of 316 stainless steel or Hastelloy® and includes a bluff body, a vortex sensor assembly and the transmitter electronics, although the latter can also be mounted remotely. They are typically available in flange sizes from 1/2 in. to 12 in. The installed cost of vortex meters is competitive with that of orifice meters in sizes under six inches. Wafer body meters (flangeless) have the lowest cost, while flanged meters are preferred if the process fluid is hazardous or is at a high temperature.

Bluff body shapes (square, rectangular, t-shaped, trapezoidal) and dimensions have been experimented with to achieve the desired characteristics. Testing has shown that linearity, low Reynolds number limitation, and sensitivity to velocity profile distortion vary only slightly with bluff body shape. In size, the bluff body must have a width that is a large enough fraction of the pipe diameter that the entire flow participates in the shedding. Second, the bluff body must have protruding edges on the upstream face to fix the lines of flow separation, regardless of the flow rate. Third, the bluff body length in the direction of the flow must be a certain multiple of the bluff body width.

The majority of vortex meters uses piezoelectric or capacitance-type sensors to detect the pressure oscillation around the bluff body. These detectors respond to the pressure oscillation with a low voltage output signal which has the same frequency as the oscillation. Such sensors are modular, inexpensive, easily replaced, and can operate over a wide range of temperature ranges--from cryogenic liquids to superheated steam. Sensors can be located inside the meter body or outside. Wetted sensors are stressed directly by the vortex pressure fluctuations and are enclosed in hardened cases to withstand corrosion and erosion effects.

External sensors, typically piezoelectric strain gages, sense the vortex shedding indirectly through the force exerted on the shedder bar. External sensors are preferred on highly erosive/corrosive applications to reduce maintenance costs, while internal sensors provide better rangeability (better low flow sensitivity). They are also less sensitive to pipe vibrations. The electronics housing usually is rated explosion- and weatherproof, and contains the electronic transmitter module, termination connections, and optionally a flow-rate indicator and/or totalizer.

Key Elements to Consider before Choosing a Vortex Flow Meter

1. What is the fluid being measured?
2. Pressure Maxium and Minimum
3. Flowrate Ranges
4. Fluid Temperature
5. Fluid Density Range
6. Viscosity Range
7. Pipe Size
8. Maximum Acceptable Pressure Drop
9. Pipe Schedule or Wall Thickness
10. Pipe Material
11. Nearest Upstream Obstruction

Vortex Flow Meter Styles

Smart vortex meters provide a digital output signal containing more information than just flow rate. The microprocessor in the flowmeter can automatically correct for insufficient straight pipe conditions, for differences between the bore diameter and that of the mating pipe, for thermal expansion of the bluff body, and for K-factor changes when the Reynolds number drops below 10,000.

Intelligent transmitters are also provided with diagnostic subroutines to signal component or other failures. Smart transmitters can initiate testing routines to identify problems with both the meter and with the application. These on-demand tests can also assist in ISO 9000 verification.

Some vortex flowmeters can detect mass flow. One such design measures both the vortex frequency and the vortex pulse strength simultaneously. From these readings, the density of the process fluid can be determined and the mass flow calculated to within 2% of span.

Another design is provided with multiple sensors to detect not only the vortex frequency, but also the temperature and pressure of the process fluid. Based on that data, it determines both the density and the mass flow rate. This meter offers a 1.25% of rate accuracy when measuring the mass flow of liquids and a 2% of rate accuracy for gases and steam. If knowledge of process pressure and temperature is of value for other reasons, this meter provides a convenient, less costly alternative to installing separate transmitters.

Vortex Flow Meter Styles

Top
Plastic Vortex Flow Meter Vortex Flow Meter for Corrosive Liquids
With no moving parts, all electronics are housed in a corrosion-resistant enclosure. Unlike meters containing metal or moving parts, the plastic vortex meters are perfect for aggressive or easily contaminated fluids. Applications range from ultra-pure water to highly corrosive chemicals and slurries.
Industrial Vortex Flow Meters Industrial Vortex Flow Meters
Measures Steam, Gas, and Low Viscosity Liquids. Vortices generated by the flowing fluid stress the shedder bar in pulses, and the shedder bar transmits the stress pulses to the encapsulated piezoelectric sensor.
Mass Gas flow meters Wedge Flow Meters
Provides a simple and reliable restriction for sensing flow as related to pressure differential. It allows users to install the meter in any full pipe orientation (horizontal, vertical or inverted). It is usually compact and rugged, offering several ranges of calibration to accommodate the requirements typical to process water applications.
Ultrasonic flow meters Vortex Shedding Flow Meter
Operating under the same principle of the vortex shedding measurement, this type of vortex flow meter is suitable for viscous,clean, or dirty waterlike liquids that are compatible with brass, PVDF, and FKM. These applications are found in most process industries, including rubber, steel, fabrication, manufacturing, refining, paper, chemical, food, petrochemical and power. Are not for suitable for flammable liquids or on gases such as air.

Frequently Asked Questions

Top

Applications & Limitations

Vortex meters are not usually recommended for batching or other intermittent flow applications. This is because the dribble flow-rate setting of the batching station can fall below the meter's minimum Reynolds number limit. The smaller the total batch, the more significant the resulting error is likely to be.

Low pressure (low density) gases do not produce a strong enough pressure pulse, especially if fluid velocities are low. Therefore, it is likely that in such services the rangeability of the meter will be poor and low flows will not be measurable. On the other hand, if reduced rangeability is acceptable and the meter is correctly sized for normal flow, the vortex flowmeter can still be considered.

If the process fluid tends to coat or build-up on the bluff body, as in sludge and slurry service, this will eventually change the meter's K factor. Vortex-shedding flowmeters are not recommended for such applications. If, however, a dirty fluid has only moderate amounts of non-coating solids, the application is likely to be acceptable. This was demonstrated by a 2-year test on a limestone slurry. At the end of the test, the K factor was found to have changed only 0.3% from the original factory calibration, although the bluff body and flowtube were badly scarred and pitted.

When measuring multi-phase flow (solid particles in gas or liquid; gas bubbles in liquid; liquid droplets in gas), vortex meter accuracy will drop because of the meter's inability to differentiate between the phases. Wet, low-quality steam is one such application: the liquid phase should be homogeneously dispersed within the steam, and vertical flow lines should be avoided to prevent slugging. When the pipe is horizontal, the liquid phase is likely to travel on the bottom of the pipe, and therefore the inner area of the pipe should be kept open at the bottom. This can be achieved by installing the bluff body horizontally. Measurement inaccuracy in such applications is about 5% of actual flow, but with good repeatability.

The permanent pressure loss through a vortex meter is about half that of an orifice plate, roughly two velocity heads. (A velocity head is defined as V2/g, where V is the flow velocity and g is the gravitational constant in consistent units.) If the pipe and meter are properly sized and of the same size, the pressure drop is likely to be only a few psi. However, downsizing (installing a smaller-than-line-size meter) in order to increase the Reynolds can increase the head loss to more than 10 psi. One should also make sure that the vena contracta pressure does not drop below the vapor pressure of the process fluid, because that would cause cavitation. Naturally, if the back-pressure on the meter is below the vapor pressure, the process fluid will flash and the meter reading will not be meaningful.

The main advantages of vortex meters are their low sensitivity to variations in process conditions and low wear relative to orifices or turbine meters. Also, initial and maintenance costs are low. For these reasons, they have been gaining wider acceptance among users.

Installation Recommendations

When installing a vortex flowmeter in an existing process where the flow range is not known, it is recommended to first make some approximate measurements (using portable pitot or clamp-on ultrasonic devices). Otherwise, there is no guarantee that a line-size vortex meter will work at all.

The vortex meter requires a well-developed and symmetrical flow velocity profile, free from any distortions or swirls. This necessitates the use of straight up- and downstream piping to condition the flow. The straight length of pipe must be the same size as the meter and its length should be about the same as required for an orifice installation with a beta ratio of 0.7. Most vortex flowmeter manufacturers recommend a minimum of 30 pipe diameters downstream of control valves, and 3 to 4 pipe diameters between the meter and downstream pressure taps. Temperature elements should be small and located 5 to 6 diameters downstream.

About half of all vortex meter installations require the "necking down" of oversized process piping by concentric reducers and expanders. Even if flow straighteners are installed, some straight (relaxation) piping will still be required.

Vortex meters can be installed vertically, horizontally, or at any angle, as long as they are kept flooded. The meter can be kept flooded by installing it in a vertical upward flow line. When installing the flowmeter in a downward or horizontal flow, the downstream piping should be kept elevated. Check valves can be used to keep the piping full of liquid when there is no flow. Block and bypass valves are required if the replacement of the sensor in the particular design requires the stopping of the flow and the opening up of the process.

Mating flanges (on the schedule 40 or schedule 80 mating piping) must have the same diameter and smooth bore as the flowmeter. Weld neck flanges are preferred, and reducing flanges should not be used. The inner surface of the mating pipe should be free from mill scale, pits, holes, reaming scores and bumps for a distance of 4 diameters upstream and 2 diameters downstream of the meter. The bores of the meter, the gaskets and the adjacent piping must be carefully aligned to eliminate any obstructions or steps.

Excessive pipe vibration can be eliminated by supporting the piping on both sides of the meter, or by rotating the meter so that the sensor is moved out of the plane of the vibration. Process noise due to valve chattering, steam traps, or pumps can result in high readings or non-zero readings under zero-flow conditions. Most meter electronics allow for increasing the noise filter settings, but increased noise reduction usually also decreases the low-flow sensitivity of the meter. One option is to relocate the meter to a less noisy part of the process.
Vortex Flow Meter | Tech Reference
Air Flow Measurement Instruments: How Precise and Accurate? Choosing a Mass Flow Meter What is a Positive Displacement Flow Meter? Technical Learning - OMEGA Engineering® Detecting Refrigerant Leak: Why? Digital Panel Meter Applications