购物车  |  联系  |  info@cn.omega.com  | 
手机拨打400-619-0559
座机拨打800-819-0559 | 021-80210010

流量计

流量测量简介

是用于测量液体或气体的线性、非线性、质量或体积流量的仪器。选择流量计时,需要考虑具体场所的一些无形因素,比如工厂员工对流量计的熟悉程度、他们在校准和维护方面的经验、备件可用性以及历史故障之间的平均时间等等。另外还建议在完成了上述步骤之后计算安装成本。

最常见的流量测量失误之一就是颠倒了这些步骤的顺序:本应选择可正常使用的传感器产品,但却依据价格来判断其适用性。那些价格"低廉"的产品可能带来昂贵的安装成本。本页将帮助您更好地了解流量计,但如果您有任何特殊流量测量方面的挑战,也可以随时与我们的应用工程师联系。

Flow Meter Design

了解更多有关流量计的信息

流量测量历史

人们对气流和水流测量的兴趣亘古未变。掌握气流方向和速度是每位古代航海家最基本的素养,而在公元前约5,000年乌尔的苏美尔城、基什、底格里斯河和幼发拉底河附近的毛伊岛等地区,水流测量技能对于引水渠水流的公平分配也非常重要。

流量测量简介

流量计选型的基本要点在于,必须清晰了解具体应用需求。因此,应投入时间全面评估过程流体特性和整体安装特点。

流量计选择的第一步

流量计选择的第一步是确定流量信息应该是连续的还是累加的,此信息是本地需要还是远程需要。如果远程需要,信号传输是模拟的、数据的还是共享的? 如果是共享的,所需(最小)数据更新频率是多少? 一旦回答了这些问题,就应着手评估工艺流体的性质和流动特性,以及容纳流量计的管道系统。 为了更系统地进行这项工作,一些表格应运而生,要求为每个应用都要填写以下类型的数据: 点击这里下载流量计评估表

RTD Probe

流体和流动特性

在表中这个部分,流体的名称应该给出,它的压力、温度、允许压降、密度(或比重)、电导率、粘度(是否牛顿)和最大工作温度下的蒸汽压力都要被列出,还应同时说明这些属性如何会发生改变或互动。此外,所有安全或毒性信息也应提供,以及流体构成、气泡存在情况、固体(研磨的还是软的,颗粒大小,纤维)、涂倾向和光传输品质(不透明,半透明或透明) 的详细数据

压力和温度范围

选择流量计时,除正常运行值外,预计的最小和最大压力、温度值也应给出。是否可以反向流动,是否并不总是充满管道,是否会形成段塞流(气体-固体-液体),是否有可能曝气或脉动,是否可能发生突然的温度变化,或在清洗和维护中是否需要特别的预防措施,这些事实也应加以说明。

管道和安装区域

关于管道系统和流量计将被安装的地方,要考虑: 对于管道,其方向(在液体应用中避免向下流动)、大小、材料、时间表、法兰压力等级、 可达性、上游或下游的转弯、阀门、调节器和可用的直管长度。 指定工程师必须知道该地区是否可能存在振动或磁场,是否能提供电动或气动能源,该地区是否属于爆炸危险区,或是否有其它特殊要求,如符合卫生或就地清洗(CIP)的规定。

选择流量计时要提出的关键问题


1. 流量计所要测量的流体是什么?

2. 需要测量率和/或流量总量吗?

3. 如果液体不是水,该液体的粘度是什么?

4. 是否需要本地显示或电子信号输出?

5. 最小和最大流量是多少?

6. 最小和最大过程压力是多少?

7. 最低和最高的过程温度是多少?

8. 流体与流量计接液部件是否化学兼容?

9. 如果这是一个过程应用,管道大小是多少?

流量和精度

下一步是通过识别将被测量的最小和最大流量(质量或体积)来确定所需仪表范围。然后确定所需的流量测量精度。通常,精度以实际读数(AR)的百分比、标准量程(CS)的百分比或满量程(FS)的百分比表示。精度要求应按最小、正常、最大流量分别指出。除非你知道这些要求,否则,在整个量程内,流量计的性能可能不会被接受。

在根据仪表读数来销售或购买产品的应用中,绝对精度至关重要。在其它应用中,可重复性也许比绝对精度更为重要。因此,建议分别建立每个应用的精度和可重复性的要求,在规格中都做说明。

当流量计的精度以% CS或% FS 单位表示,其绝对误差将随实测流量下降而上升。如果表误差以% AR表示,不论是高流量或低流量,绝对误差保持不变。因为满量程(FS)总是比标定量程(CS)大,所以以%FS表示性能的传感器总是比相同%CS规格的传感器有更大的误差。因此,为了公平地比较所有的选择,最好把所有误差单位都换算成等同的%AR单位。

在精心准备的流量计规格中,所有的精度都转换成统一的%AR单位,而这些%AR精度要求需根据最小、正常和最大流量分别指定。所有流量计规格和报价都应明确阐明在最小、正常和最大流量时该流量计的精度和可重复性。

精度与重复性

如果两个流量计类别同时提供可接受的计量性能,而其中一个没有移动部件,则选择没有移动部件的那一个。移动部件是问题的潜在来源,不仅因为明显的磨损、润滑和涂层敏感性等原因,也因为移动部件需要间隙,有时会在被测流体中产生滑动。即使是维护良好并校准的流量计,这种不可测的流量都会随流体粘度和温度的变化而变化。温度变化还会改变仪表内部尺寸,从而需要补偿。

此外,如果能从一个完整流量计和一个点传感器获得相同的性能,一般建议使用流量计。因为点传感器不关注全流量,它们只有在插入流速是整个管道流速的平均值的深度时才能读数准确。即使这一点在校准时被精心测定,它也不大可能一直保持不变,因为速度分布受流量、粘度、温度和其它因素影响而改变。

质量或体积单位

在选定一个流量计之前,建议先确定是以质量还是以体积单位来显示流量。当测量可压缩材料的流量时,体积流量就没什么意义,除非密度(有时也需要粘度)是不变的。当测量不可压缩液体的流速(体积流量)时,悬浮气泡的存在将导致错误,因此,在流体到达仪表之前必须清除气体。在其它速度传感器中,管道内衬可引发问题(超声波),或者当雷诺数过低时(涡街流量计要求 RD> 20000),仪表可能会停止运作。

鉴于以上因素,应考虑对密度、压力和粘度不敏感而且不受雷诺数变化影响 的质量流量计。此外,在化工行业中应充分利用各种水槽,它们可以测量部分满管流,并可通过大量的漂浮或可沉淀固体颗粒。

选择合适的流量计

转子流量计 转子流量计或变截面流量计
转子流量计是一个锥形管和一个浮子。它是使用最广泛的可变面积流量计,因为其成本低廉、结构简单、低压降、有较宽的量程和线性输出。
弹簧和活塞流量计 弹簧和活塞流量计
活塞式流量计采用由活塞和圆锥体形成的一个环形孔板。活塞被已校弹簧固定在锥形底部(一个无流量的部位)。刻度是基于不同的比重,油表为0.84,水表为1.0。简洁的设计以及便于传输电信号使它们在流量显示和控制中成为转子流量计的经济替代。
气体质量流量计 气体质量流量计
热式质量流量计受密度、压力和流体粘度的轻微影响。这种样式的流量计或采用差压传感器和温度传感器,或采用加热传感元件和热力学热传导原理,来确定真正的质量流量。这种质量流量计很多都有内置显示和模拟输出,以便于记录数据。常见的应用包括泄漏检测和以每分钟毫升计的低流量测量。
超声波流量计 超声波流量计
超声波多普勒流量计常用于脏污应用,例如废水以及其它会对传统传感器造成伤害的肮脏液体和泥浆。操作的基本原则是利用运动中的悬浮颗粒或气泡(不连续)反射的超声波信号的频移(多普勒效应)。
涡轮流量计 涡轮流量计
涡轮流量计的精度可达0.5%R。这是一个非常准确的仪表,可用于清洁液体和100厘斯以下的粘性液体。要求入口处的直管管长至少为管径的10倍。最常见的输出是正弦波或方波信号频率,但也可在其上安装信号调节器来获得模拟输出并起到防爆作用。仪表的多桨叶叶轮安装在自由运动的轴承上,与流体成直角并悬浮在流体中 。
叶轮式流量计 叶轮式流量计
对于水和类水流体,叶轮式流量计是最流行的低造价流量计之一。其中许多都提供管配件或插入样式。象涡轮流量计一样,要求入口处的管长是管径的至少10倍,出口处至少5倍。如果用于水以外的流体,应核实化学兼容性。正弦波和方波脉冲输出是常见类型的输出,但也有整体或面板安装的变送器可供选择。叶轮传感器的转子与流体垂直,只接触有限的流体截面。
正位移流量计 正位移流量计
在水的应用中,在没有直管可用时,水流的动荡对于涡轮和叶轮流量计来说过大,这时可使用容积式流量计。容积式流量计也可用于粘性液体。
涡街流量计涡街流量计 涡街流量计
涡街流量计的主要优点是对工艺条件的变化灵敏度低,以及相对孔板或涡轮流量计来说磨损度低。而且初始和维护成本低。由于这些原因,它们已经获得越来越广泛的用户接受。涡街流量计要求上浆,具体做法请联系我们的流量工程部门。
用于液体和气体的皮托管或差压传感器 用于液体和气体的皮托管或差压传感器
皮托管具有以下优点: 简易、低成本安装、永久压力损失非常低、低维护和良好的耐磨性。皮托管要求上浆,具体做法请联系我们的流量工程部门。
导电性液体的电磁流量计 导电性液体的电磁流量计
有直通式和插入式。电磁流量计没有任何移动部件,是废水或任何导电脏污液体的理想选择。有整体的显示器,或者用于远程监控或数据记录的模拟输出。
用于空气流量测量的风速计 用于空气流量测量的风速计
热线风速计是没有移动部件的探头。气流可以在管道中通过手持或永久固定式仪表测量。还有叶轮风速计。叶轮风速计通常比热线风速计大,但更经济并坚固耐用。带有温度和湿度的测量。

常见问题

质量或体积流量?

打算测量流量?答案似乎是购买一台流量计吧。流体流量是指流经指定位置的液体量,这个定义似乎通俗易懂 — 任何流量计都符合这个定义。描述管道内液体流量的公式如下所示:

Q = A x  v

Q表示流量,A表示管道的截面面积,v是管道内的平均流体速度。例如:液体以1米/秒的平均速度流经截面面积为1平方米的管道时,流量等于1立方米/秒。注:Q表示每单位时间的体积,因此常常将Q表示为“体积”流量。考虑以下公式:

W = rho x Q

W是流量;rho表示流体密度。例如:1千克/立方米密度的液体以1立方米/秒的速度流动时,流量等于1千克/秒。(同样,上述质量单位“千克”可以换成“磅”。此处不再进行详细的讨论—假设质量单位均为“磅”。注:W是每单位时间的质量,因此常常将W表示为“质量”流量。现在 — 希望测量何种流量?不确定?在一些应用中,测量体积流量是必须进行的操作。

考虑加注储罐的情况。可向储罐中添加各种不同密度的液体,因此,体积流量的测量必须避免液体溢出储罐。(而且液位变送器和高液位开关/关闭装置可能不需要流量计。考虑控制液体流入某个过程(每单位时间只接收有限体积的液体)的情况。体积流量测量似乎具有可行性。

在其他过程中,质量流量是非常重要的。考虑反应物质A、B和C之间的化学反应的情况,当然使用分子数而非体积来表示物质的质量。同样,购买和销售产品(运输监护)时,产品质量而非体积也是重要因素。

流量计需要何种程度的维护?

流量计的维修要求和使用寿命都受到多种因素的影响。当然,主要的因素是:根据特定的应用情况,匹配合适的流量计。选择不当的装置总是会在早期造成问题。没有移动部件的流量计通常比具有移动部件的部件耗费更少的精力。但所有流量计最终都需要进行某种程度的维护。
流量计 | 技术参考
铂电阻温度检测器 : 检测器互换性容差表 金属护套热电偶探头水中时间响应研究 校准入门手册 导线绝缘标识和应用指南 技术数据部分 : 参照部分 热电偶容差

Cart   |   Contact   |   Help   |  
US and Canada:1-888-826-6342
International:1-203-359-1660

Your One-Stop Source for Process Measurement & Control!

Flow Meters

Introduction to Flow Measurement

A flow meter is an instrument used to measure linear, nonlinear, mass or volumetric flow rate of a liquid or a gas. When choosing flowmeters, one should consider such intangible factors as familiarity of plant personnel, their experience with calibration and maintenance, spare parts availability, and mean time between failure history, etc., at the particular plant site. It is also recommended that the cost of the installation be computed only after taking these steps.

One of the most common flow measurement mistakes is the reversal of this sequence: instead of selecting a sensor which will perform properly, an attempt is made to justify the use of a device because it is less expensive. Those "inexpensive" purchases can be the most costly installations. This page will help you better understand flow meters, but you can also speak to our application engineers at anytime if you have any special flow measurement challenges.

Flow Meter Design

Learn more about flow meters

Flow Measurement in History

Our interest in the measurement of air and water flow is timeless. Knowledge of the direction and velocity of air flow was essential information for all ancient navigators, and the ability to measure water flow was necessary for the fair distribution of water through the aqueducts of such early communities as the Sumerian cities of Ur, Kish, and Mari near the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers around 5,000 B.C.

Flow Measurement Orientation

The basis of good flow meter selection is a clear understanding of the requirements of the particular application. Therefore, time should be invested in fully evaluating the nature of the process fluid and of the overall installation.

First Steps to Choose the Right Flow Meter

The first step in flow sensor selection is to determine if the flowrate information should be continuous or totalized, and whether this information is needed locally or remotely. If remotely, should the transmission be analog, digital, or shared? And, if shared, what is the required (minimum) data-update frequency? Once these questions are answered, an evaluation of the properties and flow characteristics of the process fluid, and of the piping that will accommodate the flowmeter, should take place. In order to approach this task in a systematic manner, forms have been developed, requiring that the following types of data be filled in for each application: Download the Flowmeter Evaluation Form.

RTD Probe

Fluid and flow characteristics

The fluid and its given and its pressure, temperature, allowable pressure drop, density (or specific gravity), conductivity, viscosity (Newtonian or not?) and vapor pressure at maximum operating temperature are listed, together with an indication of how these properties might vary or interact. In addition, all safety or toxicity information should be provided, together with detailed data on the fluid's composition, presence of bubbles, solids (abrasive or soft, size of particles, fibers), tendency to coat, and light transmission qualities (opaque, translucent or transparent?).

Pressure & Temperature Ranges

Expected minimum and maximum pressure and temperature values should be given in addition to the normal operating values when selecting flowmeters. Whether flow can reverse, whether it does not always fill the pipe, whether slug flow can develop (air-solids-liquid), whether aeration or pulsation is likely, whether sudden temperature changes can occur, or whether special precautions are needed during cleaning and maintenance, these facts, too, should be stated.

Piping and Installation Area

Concerning the piping and the area where the flowmeters are to be located, consider: For the piping, its direction (avoid downward flow in liquid applications), size, material, schedule, flange-pressure rating, accessibility, up or downstream turns, valves, regulators, and available straight-pipe run lengths. The specifying engineer must know if vibration or magnetic fields are present or possible in the area, if electric or pneumatic power is available, if the area is classified for explosion hazards, or if there are other special requirements such as compliance with sanitary or clean-in-place (CIP) regulations.

Key Questions to Ask when choosing a Flow Meter


1. What is the fluid being measured?

2. Do you require rate measurement and/or totalization?

3. If the liquid is not water, what viscosity is the liquid?

4. Do you require a local display on the flow meter or do you need an electronic signal output?

5. What is the minimum and maximum flowrate?

6. What is the minimum and maximum process pressure?

7. What is the minimum and maximum process temperature?

8. Is the fluid chemically compatible with the flowmeter wetted parts?

9. If this is a process application, what is the size of the pipe??

Flow rates and Accuracy

The next step is to determine the required meter range by identifying minimum and maximum flows (mass or volumetric) that will be measured. After that, the required flow measurement accuracy is determined. Typically accuracy is specified in percentage of actual reading (AR), in percentage of calibrated span (CS), or in percentage of full scale (FS) units. The accuracy requirements should be separately stated at minimum, normal, and maximum flowrates. Unless you know these requirements, your flowmeter's performance may not be acceptable over its full range.

In applications where products are sold or purchased on the basis of a meter reading, absolute accuracy is critical. In other applications, repeatability may be more important than absolute accuracy. Therefore, it is advisable to establish separately the accuracy and repeatability requirements of each application and to state both in the specifications.

When a flowmeter's accuracy is stated in % CS or % FS units, its absolute error will rise as the measured flow rate drops. If meter error is stated in % AR, the error in absolute terms stays the same at high or low flows. Because full scale (FS) is always a larger quantity than the calibrated span (CS), a sensor with a % FS performance will always have a larger error than one with the same % CS specification. Therefore, in order to compare all bids fairly, it is advisable to convert all quoted error statements into the same % AR units.

In well-prepared flow meter specifications, all accuracy statements are converted into uniform % AR units and these % AR requirements are specified separately for minimum, normal, and maximum flows. All flowmeters specifications and bids should clearly state both the accuracy and the repeatability of the meter at minimum, normal, and maximum flows.

Accuracy vs. Repeatability

If acceptable metering performance can be obtained from two different flow meter categories and one has no moving parts, select the one without moving parts. Moving parts are a potential source of problems, not only for the obvious reasons of wear, lubrication, and sensitivity to coating, but also because moving parts require clearance spaces that sometimes introduce "slippage" into the flow being measured. Even with well maintained and calibrated meters, this unmeasured flow varies with changes in fluid viscosity and temperature. Changes in temperature also change the internal dimensions of the meter and require compensation.

Furthermore, if one can obtain the same performance from both a full flowmeter and a point sensor, it is generally advisable to use the flowmeter. Because point sensors do not look at the full flow, they read accurately only if they are inserted to a depth where the flow velocity is the average of the velocity profile across the pipe. Even if this point is carefully determined at the time of calibration, it is not likely to remain unaltered, since velocity profiles change with flowrate, viscosity, temperature, and other factors.

Mass or Volumetric Units

Before specifying a flow meter, it is also advisable to determine whether the flow information will be more useful if presented in mass or volumetric units. When measuring the flow of compressible materials, volumetric flow is not very meaningful unless density (and sometimes also viscosity) is constant. When the velocity (volumetric flow) of incompressible liquids is measured, the presence of suspended bubbles will cause error; therefore, air and gas must be removed before the fluid reaches the meter. In other velocity sensors, pipe liners can cause problems (ultrasonic), or the meter may stop functioning if the Reynolds number is too low (in vortex shedding meters, RD > 20,000 is required).

In view of these considerations, mass flowmeters, which are insensitive to density, pressure and viscosity variations and are not affected by changes in the Reynolds number, should be kept in mind. Also underutilized in the chemical industry are the various flumes that can measure flow in partially full pipes and can pass large floating or settleable solids.

Choose the right Flowmeter

Top
Rotameters Rotameters or Variable Area Flowmeter
The rotameter is a tapered tube and a float. It is the most widely used for for gases and liquids flow measurement because of its low cost, simplicity, low pressure drop, relatively wide rangeability, and linear output.
Spring and Piston Flow Meters Spring and Piston Flow Meters
Piston-type flowmeters use an annular orifice formed by a piston and a tapered cone. The piston is held in place at the base of the cone (in the "no flow position") by a calibrated spring. Scales are based on specific gravities of 0.84 for oil meters, and 1.0 for water meters. Their simplicity of design and the ease with which they can be equipped to transmit electrical signals has made them an economical alternative to rotameters for flowrate indication and control.
Mass Gas Flowmeters Mass Gas Flowmeters
Thermal-type mass flow meters operate with minor dependence on density, pressure, and fluid viscosity. This style of flowmeter utilizes either a differential pressure transducer and temperature sensor or a heated sensing element and thermodynamic heat conduction principles to determine the true mass flow rate. Many of these mass flowmeters have integral displays and analog outputs for data logging. Popular applications include leak testing and low flow measurements in the milliliters per minute.
Ultrasonic Flowmeters Ultrasonic Flowmeters
The ultrasonic doppler flow meters are commonly used in dirty applications such as wastewater and other dirty fluids and slurries which ordinarily cause damage to conventional sensors. The basic principle of operation employs the frequency shift (Doppler Effect) of an ultrasonic signal when it is reflected by suspended particles or gas bubbles (discontinuities) in motion.
Turbine Flow Meterss Turbine Flow Meters
The turbine meter can have an accuracy of 0.5% of the reading. It is a very accurate meter and can be used for clean liquids and viscous liquids up to 100 centistokes. A minimum of 10 pipe diameters of straight pipe on the inlet is required. The most common outputs are a sine wave or squarewave frequency but signal conditioners can be mounted on top for analog outputs and explosion proof classifications. The meters consists of a multi-bladed rotor mounted at right angles to the flow and suspended in the fluid stream on a free-running bearing.
Paddlewheel Sensors Paddlewheel Sensors
One of the most popular cost effective flowmeters for water or water like fluids. Many are offered with flow flittings or insertions styles. These meters like the turbine meter require a minimum of 10 pipe diameters of straight pipe on the inlet and 5 on the outlet. Chemical compatibility should be verified when not using water. Sine wave and Squarewave pulse outputs are typical but transmitters are available for integral or panel mounting. The rotor of the paddlewheel sensor is perpendicular to the flow and contact only a limited cross section of the flow.
Positive Displacement Flowmeters Positive Displacement Flowmeters
These meters are used for water applications when no straight pipe is available and turbine meters and paddlewheel sensor would see too much turbulence. The positive displacement are also used for viscous liquids.
Vortex Meters Vortex Meters
The main advantages of vortex meters are their low sensitivity to variations in process conditions and low wear relative to orifices or turbine meters. Also, initial and maintenance costs are low. For these reasons, they have been gaining wider acceptance among users. Vortex meters do require sizing, contact our flow engineering.
Pitot Tubes Pitot Tubes or Differential Pressure Sensor for Liquids and Gases
The pitot tubes offer the following advantages easy, low-cost installation, much lower permanent pressure loss, low maintenance and good resistance to wear. The pitot tubes do require sizing, contact our flow engineering.
RTD Probes Magnetic Flow meters for Conductive Liquids
Available in in-line or insertion style. The magnetic flowmeters do not have any moving parts and are ideal for wastewater application or any dirty liquid which is conductive. Displays are integral or an analog output can be used for remote monitoring or data logging.
RTD Probes Anemometers for Air Flow Measurement
Hot wire anemometers are probes with no moving parts. Airflow can be measured in pipes and ducts with a hand held or permanent mount style. Vane anemometers are also available. Vane anemometers are usually larger than a hot wire but are more rugged and economical. Models are available with temperature and humidity measurement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Top

Mass or Volumetric Flow Rate?

So you want to measure flow? The answer would seem to be to purchase a flowmeter. With fluid flow defined as the amount of fluid that travels past a given location, this would seem to be straightforward — any flowmeter would suffice. However, consider the following equation describing the flow of a fluid in a pipe.

Q = A x v

Q is flow rate, A is the crosssectional area of the pipe, and v is the average fluid velocity in the pipe. Putting this equation into action, the flow of a fluid traveling at an average velocity of a 1 meter per second through a pipe with a 1 square meter cross-sectional area is 1 cubic meter per second. Note that Q is a volume per unit time, so Q is commonly denoted as the “volumetric” flow rate. Now consider the following equation:

W = rho x Q

Where W is flow rate (again - read on), and rho is the fluid density. Putting this equation into action, the flow rate will be 1 kilogram per second when 1 cubic meter per second of a fluid with a density of 1 kilogram per cubic meter is flowing. (The same can be done for the commonly-used “pounds”. Without getting into details — a pound is assumed to be a mass unit.) Note that W is a mass per unit time, so W is commonly denoted as the “mass” flow rate. Now — which flow do you want to measure? Not sure? In some applications, measuring the volumetric flow is the thing to do.

Consider filling a tank. Volumetric flow may be of interest to avoid overflowing a tank where liquids of differing densities can be added. (Then again, a level transmitter and high level switch/shutoff may obviate the need for a flowmeter.) Consider controlling fluid flow into a process that can only accept a limited volume per unit time. Volumetric flow measurement would seem applicable.

In other processes, mass flow is important. Consider chemical reactions where it is desirable to react substances A, B and C. Of interest is the number of molecules present (its mass), not its volume. Similarly, when buying and selling products (custody transfer) the mass is important, not its volume.

How much maintenance does a flowmeter require?

A number of factors influence maintenance requirements and the life expectancy of flowmeters. The major factor, of course, is matching the right instrument to the particular application. Poorly selected devices invariably will cause problems at an early date. Flowmeters with no moving parts usually will require less attention than units with moving parts. But all flowmeters eventually require some kind of maintenance.